First Aid Kit / Stay Gold
Album: Stay Gold   Collection:General
Artist:First Aid Kit   Added:Jul 2014
Label:Columbia Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-07-04 Pull Date: 2014-09-05
Week Ending: Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20
Airplays: 4 4 2 4 1 3 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 31, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
My Silver Lining
4. Dec 11, 2015: Time Traveler
Cedar Lane
2. Feb 12, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Stay Gold
5. Aug 07, 2015: Time Traveler
The Bell
3. Nov 14, 2017: The Core
My Silver Lining
6. Jun 19, 2015: Time Traveler
Waitress Song

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-07-04
“Stay Gold” First Aid Kit
The latest from Swedish sisters, Johanna (age 23) and Klara (21) Söderberg. Astonishingly mature folk and Americana — with country leanings. This is First Aid Kit’s 3rd full-length album, the follow-up to its critically acclaimed Lion’s Roar. The lyrics focus on topics such as figuring life out, moving out on one’s own, dealing with heartbreak, and building a life away from home. The album is full of memorable melodies — with pure harmonies, polished arrangements that include a 13-piece orchestra, and precise production in Omaha, Nebraska, by Mike Mogis, who also produces Bright Eyes’ albums. RIYL: Emmylou Harris, Laura Veirs or even Fleetwood Mac.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 5, 4, 7, 8, 3. FCC on Track 2.

1. (3:35) My Silver Lining – Up-tempo country-folk, with “crying” violins, fiddle, fingerpicked guitar, and simple rhythm that incorporates brushes on drums. Storytelling vocals with soaring harmonies. ****
2. (3:47) Master Pretender – Warning: FCC! “Shit gets fucked up.” Gentle, acoustic fingerpicked guitar. Song builds by lead break with the addition of full orchestration.
3. (4:11) Stay Gold – Lush orchestration and wonderfully rich harmonies over a gentle, swaying rhythm track. **
4. (4:43) Cedar Lane – Lilting waltz. Piano. Brushes on drums. Wistful vocals that tend more toward the country side. Pedal steel integrated at points. ***
5. (4:04) Shattered & Hollow – Beautiful, sweet ballad begins by ruing loss, “I’d rather be shattered than hollow…” Evolves into a mid-tempo tune with pure high vocals over a simple drum beat. The sisters harmonize, “I’d rather be moving than static/I’d rather be by your side.” ****
6. (3:28) The Bell – Swinging, swaying country-folk with uplifting harmonies. Tune has an easy, head-nodding vibe. Flute throughout adds a nice touch.
7. (4:04) Waitress Song – Strumming guitar triplets supported by drums, with harmonies that rise and fall. Song about leaving heartbreak behind and rediscovering yourself on your own. “Girls just want to have fun/And the rest of us hardly know who we are.” Ghosts of a slide guitar in the distance. ***
8. (3:14) Fleeting One – Indie folk. Fingerpicked guitar and piano. Harmonies that reach lovely heights. ***
9. (3:18) Heaven Knows – Starts softly, then becomes a foot-stompin’ hoedown. Nice fiddle in lead break. Don’t forget your boots and hat!
10. (4:01) A Long Time Ago – Striking indie folk piano ballad. Spare vocals with harmonies blended in during the choruses. Strings are layered as well. Nice closer.

Track Listing
1. My Silver Lining   6. The Bell
2. Master Pretender   7. Waitress Song
3. Stay Gold   8. Fleeting One
4. Cedar Lane   9. Heaven Knows
5. Shattered & Hollow   10. A Long Time Ago