English, Lawrence / Wilderness Of Mirrors
Album: Wilderness Of Mirrors   Collection:General
Artist:English, Lawrence   Added:Jun 2014
Label:Room 40  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-06-27 Pull Date: 2014-08-29 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Aug 17 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2015: Music Casserole
Another Body
4. Jul 23, 2014: minimum entropy
The Liquid Casket
2. Oct 30, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Graceless Hunter
5. Jul 16, 2014: minimum entropy
The Liquid Casket
3. Aug 16, 2014: Music Casserole
Graceless Hunter
6. Jul 12, 2014: Music Casserole
Forgiving Noir

Album Review
miss information
Reviewed 2014-06-24

Lawrence English
Wilderness of Mirrors
Room 40

The Australian composer's latest album is inspired by T.S. Eliot's "Gerontion," a poem that coined the phrase "Wilderness Of Mirrors"—which itself became a widely used term during the Cold War to describe intentionally misleading behaviour from opposing intelligence agencies.

Inspired by MBV and Swans he burys a singularity in each track slowly reflected back upon itself in a flood of compositional feedback.

**1. (6:21) Beautiful but noisy bowing (with box harp? and piano?) with effervescent static waves, subtle intricacies
2. (2:38) Buzzy synth strobes over fluttering butterflies, ominous growl from the depths emerges
3. (2:02) Quiet. Rumbles, ominous plod approaching, fighting in the distance, runs into 4
*4. (6:26) Electric roar, quiet-ish but vibrations everywhere, tone emerging out of it all, then spreads out and relaxes a little, gets pretty and floaty
5. (3:19) Quiet, higher tones and lower hums, eerie, subtle
*6. (8:25) Layers of noise, repetitive, humans chanting buried in the noise? gets quiet then builds harmonic drone, a couple of skips then back to drone with women's humming tones, harmonica? it all gets buried in fuzzy noise drone
**7. (5:10) Pulsing goat horns, mysterious pretty flutes, breathy female vox, synth and noise
*8. (4:48) Breathy synth pulses, light screeches, loud feedback casio tones

Track Listing
1. The Liquid Casket   5. Wrapped In Skin
2. Wilderness Of Mirrors   6. Forgiving Noir
3. Guillotines And Kingmakers   7. Graceless Hunter
4. Another Body   8. Hapless Gatherer