King Of Prussia / Zonian Girls...And The Echoes That Surround Us All
Album: Zonian Girls...And The Echoes That Surround Us All   Collection:General
Artist:King Of Prussia   Added:May 2014
Label:Minty Fresh  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-30 Pull Date: 2014-08-01
Week Ending: Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15
Airplays: 2 1 3 3 2 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 13, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Oct 09, 2015: Time Traveler
Carolina, Carolina
2. Aug 05, 2016: Time Traveler
Your Work Is Magic
5. Mar 13, 2015: Time Traveler (Friday the 13th)
Old Masks
3. Jan 15, 2016: Time Traveler
Carolina, Carolina
6. Feb 27, 2015: Time Traveler
Your Work Is Magic

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-05-24
“Zonian Girls…And the Echoes That Surround Us All” King of Prussia

Debuting in 2008, King of Prussia is an indie rock band that started as part of the vibrant music scene in Athens, Georgia. This double album (20 songs) on a single disc is the third full-length release for the band and represents an ambitious step forward. Indie rock, baroque-pop and folk-rock genres are well represented — as are faux metal (Track 18), blues rock (Track 20), and drug-addled dreams (Track 10). Lead singer-songwriter and guitarist, Brandon Hanick, relocated for 3 years to Barcelona, Spain. He returned with all 20 songs written for this album and an alternative version of King of Prussia in Barcelona that would be involved in the transcontinental recording with the Athens, GA version! The two sets of 10 songs are intended to mirror one another — with each of the brighter, happy songs on “Zonian Girls” having a less happy, darker counterpart on the “Echoes” set. I don’t hear as much difference as some reviewers…but there you go.
RIYL: Wilco (or spinoff, Autumn Defense), Belle and Sebastian, the Polyphonic Spree, and even Real Estate and Bowie on one song.
— Francis

Recommended: Zonian Girls 3, 1, 6, 8, 4. Echoes 13, 12, 15, 11, 17,19.
FCCs on 5 (I couldn’t hear it) and 9 (“Shit”).

Zonian Girls
1. (2:43) Actuary — Up-tempo opener. Catchy melody with lots of “oh-ohs.” Piano-driven with carefree vocals. Brass added in second lead break. ***
2. (3:41) The Dean and the Photographer — Mid-tempo psychedelic folk-pop. Jangly guitar chords. Lush harmonies and piano in chorus.
3. (2:59) Your Work Is Magic — Jaunty, up-tempo track. Cool opening with pounding drums and rapid bass progressions. Builds to add horns and banjo. First single. ****
4. (3:22) Anna Nordeen — Like a classic 1960s ballad. Slow tempo. Contemplative vocals. Lots of strings and gentle harmonies. **
5. (3:05) 1,000 Leagues — Uplifting melody and earnest vocals. Smooth arrangement includes piano and ringing, jangly guitars. FCC
6. (1:54) Every Girl — Up-tempo track with staccato drumming and lots of horns. “Sha-la-la-las” give the song a classic feeling. **
7. (2:21) I’ll Dance with You — Tumbling, rolling waterfalls of piano in a baroque-pop melody. Shimmering female backing vocals.
8. (3:08) Carolina, Carolina — Starts with spoken lines. Up-tempo song with vocals reminiscent of 60s Brit pop groups such as Herman’s Hermits or Peter and Gordon. Horns add a Spanish flavor, and one verse is in Spanish. **
9. (3:04) Another Whitewashed Afternoon — Strumming guitar and banjo on an up-tempo folk-rock track. Electric guitar in lead break. FCC: Shit.
10. (4:12) Old Masks — How to describe this? Too much LSD leads to a strange dream involving a bus trip with fellow musicians and Good Humor ice cream. Dissonant Space Mountain music accompanies the monologue. Dare you play this interlude between sets?

…And the Echoes That Surround Us All
11. (5:17) From the Vine — Delicate, fingerpicked guitar and piano. Rueful vocals about lost romance. Female harmonies added partway through. ***
12. (3:07) A Parting, A Loss — Simple piano progression lays the foundation for a melodramatic ode to breakups. Nice horn in the lead break. A little Righteous Brothers? ***
13. (3:10) Your Condition — Jangly guitar, prominent drums. Comfortable melody. A bit of a Real Estate sound. ****
14. (3:33) Holy Coast — Syncopated beat. Jangly guitars. Warm vocals over basic arrangement with female lead vocals in second verse.
15. (2:32) Never Young — Bigger sound. Pounding drums and more angular guitar. Rich harmonies. Definitely a Wilco or Autumn Defense flavor. ***
16. (3:21) Divorce — Swinging melody. Jangly guitar. Airy vocals.
17. (2:15) Storming the Beach — Guitar-driven, Bowie-like rock. Timekeeper bass line. **
18. (5:18) I Won’t Cry — Faux-metal sound. Opening guitar like Hendrix. Thundering drums under.
19. (5:34) The Sun Will Never Rise — Easy-going country-rock sound. Wailing guitars in the distance. ** (Long break at the end of this track before last track on disc.)
20. (4:42) Chain Smokin’ Woman — Dissonant, electric guitar-driven blues-rock. Echo-y and edgy.

Track Listing
1. Actuary   11. From The Vine
2. The Dean And The Photographer   12. A Parting, A Loss
3. Your Work Is Magic   13. Your Condition
4. Anna Nordeen   14. Holy Coast
5. 1,000 Leagues   15. Never Young
6. Every Girl   16. Divorce
7. I'll Dance With You   17. Storming The Beach
8. Carolina, Carolina   18. I Won't Cry
9. Another Whitewashed Afternoon   19. The Sun Will Never Rise
10. Old Masks   20. Chain Smokin' Woman