Trouble With Templeton, The / Rookie
Album: Rookie   Collection:General
Artist:Trouble With Templeton, The   Added:May 2014
Label:Bella Union  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-30 Pull Date: 2014-08-01
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8
Airplays: 2 4 3 3 1 4 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 24, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
4. Dec 02, 2016: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
2. Jan 22, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
5. Sep 30, 2016: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
3. Oct 12, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
6. Nov 27, 2015: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast

Album Review
Zoe Rogers
Reviewed 2014-05-29
“Rookie” The Trouble With Templeton

This is the second album from this Brisbane, Australia indie rock group. Let by 23-year-old Thomas Calder, The Trouble With Templeton released their independently recorded and released album “Bleeders” in 2011. The band just recently signed with Bella Union in the UK, joining the ranks with Fleet Foxes, Midlake, and Beach House. This album is full of great melodies and interesting stories. Play if you like, Pinback, Avi Buffalo, Portugal the Man…


Recommended Tracks: 3, 4,5, 10
FCC: Track 6 (“God Dammit”) Track 7 (“Fucker”)

1. Whimpering Child – Chorus reminds me a little of Radiohead, cool drum beat.
2. You Are New – Reminiscent of Blind Pilot
3. Heavy Lifting – Snare heavy, very Pinback-esque
4. Like A Kid – Starts with a spoken “No!, nonononono!” Heavier song, more guitar distortion, anthemic, play if you love Portugal the Man
5. Six Months In A Cast – This song features more acoustic sounding guitar strumming and maracas. Possibly my favorite and most catchy chorus on the album.
6. Climate – Short 1 minute song, sampled speaking at the beginning. Heavier base and drum line again. FCC
7. I Recorded You – Folk Indie sound, sounds a little like Avi Buffalo on this one. More mellow. FCC
8. Flowers In Bloom – This song is also mellow with some echoing vocals (girl back up singer).
9. Secret Pastures – Acoustic guitar and vocals only. Nice build by the end of the song.
10. Soldiers – Heavy base tones on the keyboard, good word play. Another one that could be on a new Pinback album ☺
11. Glue – More up tempo/poppy sound.
12. Lint – Super pretty guitar on this track. Other instruments build in as the song progresses, cool distortion and echoes throughout.

Track Listing
1. Whimpering Child   7. I Recorded You
2. You Are New   8. Flowers In Bloom
3. Heavy Lifting   9. Secret Pastures
4. Like A Kid   10. Soldiers
5. Six Months In A Cast   11. Glue
6. Climate   12. Lint