Ema / Future's Void
Album: Future's Void   Collection:General
Artist:Ema   Added:Apr 2014
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-09 Pull Date: 2014-07-11
Week Ending: Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25
Airplays: 1 4 2 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 14, 2014: ZoeRadio 7-14-14
4. Jul 02, 2014: Brownian Motion
2. Jul 07, 2014: ZoƫRadio
5. Jul 02, 2014: A-Philiac
3. Jul 05, 2014: Proselytizer Radio News Hour
6. Jun 30, 2014: Eclectic Erudition (Bobby Womack Jam)
So Blonde

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2014-05-08
Genre: internet, grunge, edward snowden, selfies, apocalypse

Dramatic folk/noise/industrial/indefinable from South Dakota musician EMA. Her 2011 album "Past Life Martyred Saints" cloaked itself in a mess of distortion and ramshackle honesty. "Future's Void" sees EMA stepping out slightly from the haze, delivering a record full of social commentary, introspection, anger, anxiety, and beauty. Definitely worth a listen.

Others: PJ Harvey, Fiona Apple, Nine Inch Nails

Favorites: 1, 4, 6, 9. FCC: 7

1. (4:18) *** Distortion, hiss, and ominous bass textures. Stark hand clap percussion. Eerie and awe-inspiring with a passionate vocal performance.
2. (3:23) Grunge-y 90's feel to this one. Initially I really wasn't a fan but there are some relatively thought provoking lyrics and the raggedness of EMA's vocals (particularly with about a minute left on the last chorus) make up for it. Still one of the weaker tracks for me though.
3. (4:34) * Nicely detailed piano/synth backdrop for EMA's croon.
4. (5:27) **** Industrial vibe, starts off slowly but bursts into an otherworldly chorus with menacing strings and huge choral we're-all-going-down-so-launch-the-missiles apocalyptic backing vocals. Stunning.
5. (5:08) * Bare, repetitive piano and sample from what sounds like a movie. Transitions into mid-tempo plod with angry shredded vocals.
6. (4:15) **** Mmmmm those drums. Playful false start. Easy favorite for me just because of the mammoth drumming but hey my show is called A Visit From Drum give me a break.
7. (3:39) FCC "fuck". Less developed than a lot of the other songs on here so not a tragedy about the FCC.
8. (5:11) * Solemn piano and fragile vocals. Nice respite from some of the noisier tracks.
9. (4:18) *** Distorted synth intro. Clever percussion throughout. Really cool vocal collage/chant toward the end. Another favorite.
10. (3:18) Organ melody super reminiscent of Amazing Grace/Military Taps. Fireworks sample. Let EMA soundtrack your next Fourth of July party.

Track Listing
1. Satellites   6. Neuromancer
2. So Blonde   7. When She Comes
3. 3jane   8. 100 Years
4. Cthulu   9. Solace
5. Smoulder   10. Dead Celebrity