Men, The / Tomorrow's Hits
Album: Tomorrow's Hits   Collection:General
Artist:Men, The   Added:Mar 2014
Label:Sacred Bones Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-04-11 Pull Date: 2014-06-13
Week Ending: Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18 May 11 May 4 Apr 27
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 5 4 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 08, 2015: The Sunset Life
Another Night
4. Jun 10, 2014: The Sunset Life
Another Night
2. Oct 30, 2014: The Fishbowl
Pearly Gates
5. Jun 07, 2014: Music Casserole
3. Oct 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Pearly Gates
6. Jun 05, 2014: The Sunset Life
Settle Me Down

Album Review
Graham Anderson
Reviewed 2014-03-20
The Men / Tomorrow’s Hits / Sacred Bones

Classic blues-rock sound over much of the album.

Songs often have a jam aesthetic, beginning with a verse / chorus structure and ending with a solo over a vamping rhythm section. Influences are drawn widely from classic rock, blues rock, and indie. Indeed, this album seems to lack a stylistic thread, but each song hangs together individually, and feels like taking a tour through rock history.

1. 5:14 Classic blues rock sound, similar to Skynyrd, complete with organ, Hendrix-influenced solo distortion, harmonica jam-style solo
2. 3:21 Picked riff opens to a Three Dog Night-style organ-driven upbeat blues jam.
3. 5:29 Power sax! Rhythm-section driven dense sound with keys, bass, and guitar playing a repeated 2-bar phrase. Vocals are screamed over the din, giving a loose wild feeling to this jam-oriented track.
4. 4:32 FCC at 1:26 Dripping water and guttural noises over pounding bass open into a fast paced punk-influenced track, ends with jam-style anticlimax
5. 3:12 Swing beat with piano riff, steel guitar, and twangy guitar distortion sounds like a Neil Young song without the haunting vocals. Harmonica solo outro.
6. 6:17 * Electric blues solo over fast frenetic rhythm section, punk-style bass and vocals. Electric noise and Jerry Lewis-style piano rock and vox screams. The rock saxophone returns!
7. 4:59 Laid-back slide guitar, reverbed organ, and cheery rhythm guitar give a rambling rolling feel to this track, fade out guitar solo
8. 3:41 Heavy reverb and distortion vocals a bit like the Strokes, up tempo piano and power-chord driven indie-style rock, heavy distorted solo guitar fade out
Graham Anderson

Track Listing
1. Dark Waltz   5. Sleepless
2. Get What You Give   6. Pearly Gates
3. Another Night   7. Settle Me Down
4. Different Days   8. Going Down