Jurado, Damien / Brothers And Sisters Of The Eternal Son
Album: Brothers And Sisters Of The Eternal Son   Collection:General
Artist:Jurado, Damien   Added:Feb 2014
Label:Secretly Canadian  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-02-07 Pull Date: 2014-04-11
Week Ending: Apr 6 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9
Airplays: 1 1 3 3 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 06, 2016: A Visit From Drum (Closers)
Suns In Our Mind
4. Apr 04, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Silver Timothy
2. Jun 11, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Silver Timothy
5. Mar 21, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Silver Timothy
3. Jun 06, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Best of 2014)
Silver Timothy
6. Mar 14, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Silver Timothy

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2014-02-07
While some of Jurado's earlier releases were characterized by sparse guitar and gentle vocals, his eleventh album sees him continuing the more fully fleshed out production of 2012's "Maraqopa". Despite the ornate psychedelic textures and full backing band, Jurado doesn't sacrifice his lyrical or conceptual prowess. An oddly mysterious album that's meant to be lived with and absorbed for a few days. Definitely among the best things I've heard so far this year (I know it's only January, but still). Favorites: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10. No FCCs.

RIYL: Bill Callahan, Fleet Foxes "Helplessness Blues", Jason Molina, Cass McCombs, Cactus Channel, Destroyer "Destroyer's Rubies"

1. (3:09) **** Gentle acoustic guitar bursts into grand psych-folk. Great production on the vocals.
2. (3:17) ***** God. Soothing, majestic, and catchy as hell. Front-runner for my track of the year so far. Woodblock, latin rhythm percussion. Addictive.
3. (2:48) ** More of a country, folky vibe here with a lilting rhythm. Interesting synth noises and deeper vocals.
4. (3:26) *** Nice recurring melody and some typically wonderful delivery from Jurado. Less electronic additions than some of the earlier tracks.
5. (3:41) ** Distorted vocals with strummed guitar and shuffling drums. Backup oohs. Cinematic.
6. (6:07) ***** Falsetto vocals, fantastic percussion, funky bass--a Jurado perfect storm. Longest and best song on the album. Can't get enough.
7. (3:22) *** Takes about a minute to warm up but turns into a dreamy pop tune.
8. (3:25) * Dramatic and folky with background violin.
9. (3:07) ** More subtle, intimate, acoustic song. Just Jurado and his guitar. A nice change of pace for the album.
10. (2:10) *** Breaks into a psychedelic Beatles-esque jaunt. Aptly placed environmental samples midway through. Fun, bombastic closer.

Track Listing
1. Magic Number   6. Silver Donna
2. Silver Timothy   7. Silver Malcolm
3. Return To Maraqopa   8. Silver Katherine
4. Metallic Cloud   9. Silver Joy
5. Jericho Road   10. Suns In Our Mind