Autumn Defense, The / Fifth
Album: Fifth   Collection:General
Artist:Autumn Defense, The   Added:Jan 2014
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-31 Pull Date: 2014-04-04
Week Ending: Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 25, 2014: Grooving with DJ Gu
Calling Your Name, None Of This Will Matter
4. Mar 18, 2014: Grooving with DJ Gu
This Thing That I've Found
2. Mar 29, 2014: Music Casserole
This Thing That I've Found
5. Mar 16, 2014: Funk to Folk
This Thing That I've Found
3. Mar 28, 2014: Time Traveler
This Thing That I've Found
6. Mar 14, 2014: Time Traveler
This Thing That I've Found

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-01-30
“Fifth” The Autumn Defense
Fifth is…ah hem..the fifth album from Chicago-based members of Wilco — Pat Sansone and John Stirratt. The album features mellow power-pop, jangly indie rock and alt country with often laid-back tempos and vocals. Influences include the Beatles, late Beach Boys, artsy Kinks or Zombies, and the Traveling Wilburys. This is the first album The Autumn Defense has created with its full touring band. Definitely some good tracks here.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 5, 1, 4, 8, 6 No FCCs detected.

1. (3:44) None of This Will Matter – Mellow country-rock song like an Eagles ballad from the 1970s. Strong hooks. Rich harmonies. ***
2. (3:29) This Thing That I’ve Found – Strummy — with a Wilco/Traveling Wilburys/George Harrison vibe. Laidback vocals. Strong backbeat. Nice harmonies, strings and tasty guitar licks in the lead break and trail-out. ****
3. (3:59) I Can See your Face – Glistening synths and soft, evocative vocals over very light guitar strumming. Drums and piano. Bigger harmonies in the choruses — with nice changes in dynamics.
4. (4:09) I Want You Back – Beach Boys-style ballad with full orchestra, prominent drums and bells. ***
5. (3:25) Calling your Name – Hooky, very Beatles-like melody. Plinking electric piano. Well-orchestrated. Solid background vocals. Chicago-like brass (or synth brass) in lead break. ****
6. (3:46) Can’t Love Anyone Else – Easy-going stroll. Alt country love song. Nice beats. Smooth harmonies. Eagles again. **
7. (3:12) August Song – Jazzy feeling with bongo rhythms in a mid-tempo track that’s a bit loungy.
8. (4:12) Under the Wheel – Circular, rolling rhythm like hitching a ride on a slow freight train — created by drums and picked guitar. Dreamy, harmonized indie folk-rock vocals and simple instrumentation. ***
9. (3:22) Why Don’t We – Up-tempo, tropical flavor with jazzy beats and stylings.
10. (4:32) The Light in your Eye – Another ballad. Uplifting vocals over a synthesizer bed. A bit on the easy listening side to my ears.
11. (3:17) Things on my Mind – Guitar-driven country-rock with rich harmonies.
12. (5:02) What’s It Take – Wistfully roaming through a vaguely country-flavored tune — like the Eagles from their 2007 comeback record. Soft harmonies. Lounge piano in the lead break.

Track Listing
1. None Of This Will Matter   7. August Song
2. This Thing That I've Found   8. Under The Wheel
3. I Can See Your Face   9. Why Don't We
4. I Want You Back   10. The Light In Your Eye
5. Calling Your Name   11. Things On My Mind
6. Can't Love Anyone Else   12. What's It Take