Mogard, Abul / Drifted Heaven
Album: Drifted Heaven   Collection:General
Artist:Mogard, Abul   Added:Jan 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-24 Pull Date: 2014-03-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 2 Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9 Feb 2
Airplays: 1 2 4 1 3 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 07, 2015: Top 30 Experimental Countdown of 2014
Unarmoured Love
4. Mar 31, 2014: Cassettenova's Cassexy Fantasies
Unarmoured Love
2. Dec 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Airless Linger
5. Mar 26, 2014: minimum entropy
Airless Linger
3. Dec 08, 2014: DSD
Unarmoured Love
6. Mar 21, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Unarmoured Love

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-01-23
Abul Mogard worked in a factory in Belgrade, Serbia for most of his life. When he retired, his life felt eerily quiet, so he started making music to recreate the sonic atmospheres of heavy machinery. His self-titled debut was one of the greatest ambient recordings ever put to tape in my opinion (I listen to this guy almost every night before bed), and this is just as great, though stylistically a huge advancement. Sparse organ textures are more rhythmic, harsh, even dissonant in some places, though never losing the ability to charm. Haunting, full of pathos, huge soundscapes that evoke clouds rolling in the wind.

1. (8:27) a gradual crescendo of frigid tones floating around, never quite finding resolution, erupts into a static-laden drones by the end, like flying through a thunderstorm
2. (7:16) aptly titled “Tumbling Relentless Heaps,” dark subterranean pulses soon joined by inchoate mechanical whirring sounds
3. (6:26) hollow pulses reverberating, feels like you’re submerged in a submarine
4. ***(5:06) almost lyrical, windy passages of melody build up into blurred synth arpeggios, again a tastefully noisy conclusion
5. **(9:40) “Airless Linger” indeed, marked use of sustained drones, dynamic range completely supplanting any melodic movement, perfect for soundbeds or meditation soundtracks
6. (5:43) A calm and natural conclusion, crescendo sounds like a rising tide on a rocky shore

Track Listing
1. Post-Crisis Remembrance   4. Unarmoured Love
2. Tumbling Relentless Heaps   5. Airless Linger
3. The Other Room   6. Drifted Haven