Thee Oh Sees / Singles, Vol. 3
Album: Singles, Vol. 3   Collection:General
Artist:Thee Oh Sees   Added:Jan 2014
Label:Castle Face Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-24 Pull Date: 2014-03-28
Week Ending: Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9 Feb 2
Airplays: 2 5 4 6 8 8 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 03, 2023: Altitude Sickness
Block Of Ice (Live At The Sf Eagle)
4. Mar 18, 2014: late night dryer
Destroyed Fortress/No Spell (Live At Death By Audio), Block Of Ice (Live At The Sf Eagle)
2. Aug 10, 2014: Stringless Balloon
Block Of Ice (Live At The Sf Eagle)
5. Mar 14, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Burning Spear
3. Mar 20, 2014: Stringless Balloon
Burning Spear, Block Of Ice (Live At The Sf Eagle), Devil Again
6. Mar 13, 2014: Aporeia
Burning Spear

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-01-23
Singles, rarities, demos, covers, live versions from local favorites, recorded over the last couple years. Big mix of stuff here, with a handful of sunny psych pop that hasn't made much of an appearance on their last three albums. Everything's pretty interesting.

*1 (3:16) Lazy, sunny blues-psych pop; croaked vox
2 (2:16) Lo-fi sunshine pop; part included in "I Come from the Mountain"
3 (2:30) Ramshackle noisy demo of Carrion Crawler/The Dream track
**4 (2:57) Cover of the first song Sonic Youth released; noisy post-punky with more reverb than the original
*5 (4:08) Buzzing, jarring psych chug-along, repetitive, yelps, loads of guitar effects
6 (3:27) FCC BULLSHIT Mr. Quintron cover, weirdo narration-style vox over drum beat, noisy instrumentation
*7 (3:28) Easygoing 60s sunshine pop, flute, ba ba ba's; Castlemania feel but not too weird
8 (3:07) Straightforward head-nod psych-rock/pop, the occasional spacy warbling
**9 (2:54) Super upbeat, bouncy pop, reverbed vox, ba ba ba's, catchy rhythm
***10 (7:34) Fucking great live Block of Ice jam from a show in SF, some really catchy parts, grooving bassline, loads of reverb. Starts with a quick dedication
11 (10:19) FCC FUCK in post-song banter. Long two song jam; really good stuff with some great bursts throughout, sounds like a bootleg

Track Listing
1. Ugly Man   6. Fbi2
2. Girls Who Smile   7. Wait Let's Go
3. Crushed Grass   8. Always Flying
4. Burning Spear   9. Devil Again
5. What You Need   10. Block Of Ice (Live At The Sf Eagle)
  11. Destroyed Fortress/No Spell (Live At Death By Audio)