Various Artists / Rekids Vs. United Kingdom
Album: Rekids Vs. United Kingdom   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-17 Pull Date: 2014-03-21 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Feb 9 Jan 26
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 04, 2014: late night dryer krispy edition
Get On Down (Original Mix)
2. Jan 22, 2014: Pumping Iron
Get On Down (Original Mix)

Album Review
Andrew Serna
Reviewed 2014-01-10
COLL: Rekids v. United Kingdom Label: Rekids

This is a super-cool and innovative compilation of forward-thinking electronica that doesn't stick to any formulas. The Rekids label is the home of Radio Slave, and they've asked some UK folks to kick in some tracks. These tracks have elements of old-school beats and traditional patterns, but each track likes to go its own way and take you on a different trip. Each producer contributes something interesting here - so try any of these 5 tracks. But my favorites are #1 (Kenny Hawkes' "Gemini") #3 (Mr. G's "Get On Down"), and a super-trippy #5 (Toby Tobias' "Breakdown").

1. "Gemini" (9:14): Epic and nutty track. Starts with old-school inner-city beats, congas, crashes, & breaks, then the 2nd half goes into a space-y synth-laden sci-fi exploration.
2. "Serotone" (8:16): Disturbing and weird in a funky way. Kooky beats and darkly ringing effects, cut up & chopped and thrown around this odd little track.
3. "Get On Down" (8:45): Mr. G keeps it old-school (I like the little whistles) on this solid and punchy tech-house track. Get on down indeed.
4. "Raw Nerve" (5:01): Mad electro-disco with high-pitched warbling and trippy synths all over the place. Somehow this is very cheerful in its own unique way. Love the big claps towards the end.
5. "Breakdown" (6:14): Sci-fi indeed. Richly layered synths and ping-pong effects over a heavy slow-rolling bassline. Very cool.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Hawkes, Kenny & David Parr Gemini (Original Mix)
2. O'brien, Matt Serotone (Radio Slave's Panorama Garage Remix)
3. Mr. G Get On Down (Original Mix)
4. Rhythm Odyssey, The Raw Nerve (In Dub)
5. Tobias, Toby Breakdown (Original Mix)