Deathstench / Massed In Black Shadow
Album: Massed In Black Shadow   Collection:General
Artist:Deathstench   Added:Jan 2014
Label:Malignant Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-02 Pull Date: 2014-03-06 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Mar 9 Feb 23 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 03, 2014: Deathcrush
Corpse Upon A Throne Of Wyrms
4. Jan 20, 2014: Deathcrush
Circle Of Black Blood
2. Feb 17, 2014: Deathcrush
Shrine Of Viscera
5. Jan 15, 2014: Brownian Motion
Circle Of Black Blood
3. Jan 22, 2014: Brownian Motion
Corpse Upon A Throne Of Wyrms
6. Jan 09, 2014: Deathcrush
Circle Of Black Blood

Album Review
The Grunt
Reviewed 2014-01-05
Tags: Death Industrial, Doom, Dark Ambient, Noise, Black Metal, Los Angeles.
Debut full-length from Los Angeles based duo -- released Dec 2012. This album pulls together death industrial with some drone/doom/black metal touches and keeps the sound cohesive with a kind of uncomfortably-viscous black vomit. This is sick shit and you should listen to it! Play this album and MENTION THAT IT'S RELEASED ON MALIGNANT RECORDS!!!

RIYL: Gnaw Their Tongues,

1.) (5min) Some dark windy noise with occasional washes of unrecognizably distorted vocals.
2.) + + (11min) Deep slow distant fan pulsing with ambient creaking. After 2min, slow doom drone guitars enter with noisy squeeky crackly distortion and slow distorted screams. 2 or 3 note riff continues for next 9 minutes. Great combination of funeral doom and noise!!!
3.) + (9min) Dark mad-scientist-laboratory static noises. Droning crackly distorted bass note fades up at 2min and then gets lost / morphs around in the glitchy madness.
4.) + + (8min) Deep bassy pulses and hits, almost makes you feel sick if you turn the bass up far enough, with distorted whisper-screams and slow dissonant guitar riff on equal decibel level as the dark ambient that's still churning my stomach. This is great!
5.) + + (5min) Torture pulsing glitch gong for 90sec then icy noisy chaotic blurred-in-the-mix fast raw black metal with all kinds of screams. Falls apart into harsh metallic noises and buried screams. Yesssss….
6.) + + (10min) Something wicked is churning or bubbling and the distorted layered black vomit growls slowly usher in a sparse guitar riff that almost sounds sweet in comparison to the sonic debauchery around it. Devolves. Awesome.

-The Grunt

Track Listing
1. Extractum Ex Infernis   4. Circle Of Black Blood
2. Corpse Upon A Throne Of Wyrms   5. Shrine Of Viscera
3. Symbols In Warm Flesh   6. Bastards Of The Black Flame