Yamantaka//Sonic Titan / Uzu
Album: Uzu   Collection:General
Artist:Yamantaka//Sonic Titan   Added:Dec 2013
Label:Suicide Squeeze Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-12-12 Pull Date: 2014-02-21
Week Ending: Feb 23 Feb 16 Feb 9 Jan 26 Jan 19 Dec 22 Dec 15
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 20, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Bring Me The Hand Of Bloody Benzaiten
4. Feb 14, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Valentine's)
2. Dec 05, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Bring Me The Hand Of Bloody Benzaiten, Sea Sickness Pt 2, Sea Sickness Pt 1
5. Feb 07, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Rainy edition)
One, Bring Me The Hand Of Bloody Benzaiten
3. Feb 19, 2014: Meow After Midnight
6. Jan 24, 2014: A Visit From Drum (3-hour edition)
One, Bring Me The Hand Of Bloody Benzaiten

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2013-12-12
Second full-length by the Japanese-Canadian group. Their debut "YT//ST" was one of my favorite albums of 2011 and though this new CD definitely exists in the same realm of sound (psych-rock, high female vocals) it's much more concept heavy than "YT//ST". It's clear from the seamless transitions between every track that this album is meant to be consumed as a whole (so watch out for/exploit these transitions). This is a highly theatrical, occasionally gorgeous, and constantly thrilling listen. One of 2013’s most ambitious “albums” in the truest sense of the word.
Particular Favorites: 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9 (all of these picks also work quite well as two-song units i.e. 3 & 4, 6 & 7, 8 & 9). No FCCs.

Similar artists/releases: Liars "Drum's Not Dead", Deerhoof gone prog, Liars "Sisterworld", Yamantaka//Sonic Titan "YT//ST"

1. (2:39) * Slow. Reverb-laden, dramatic piano. High, operatic female vocals. Transitions seamlessly into track 2.
2. (5:58) ** Mid. Thumping percussion amid a slew of piano and psychedelic effects. Breaks out into a heavy riff. Definite prog-rock vibe.
3. (4:24) **** Mid. Mammoth drumming with heavily-effected female vocals. Epic and outstanding. Fade out transition to the next track.
4. (3:24) *** Mid. Oscillating, hypnotic, melody that slowly builds into a groove. Heavy bass beneath high, gorgeous vocals. Loud. Phenomenal drumming as usual.
5. (4:06) *** Fast. Opens with tribal tom-heavy percussion. Distorted guitar. Keening female vocals that turn into an almost rap? Strange, nearly corny, but it grows on me with every listen. Outro of shouting and manic guitar soloing.
6. (3:24) ***** Slow. Piano with found-sound samples of the ocean and wind. Haunting, stunning, and beautiful. Overpoweringly good. Goes right into the next track.
7. (4:55) **** Heavy drumming then bursts into a chugging riff. Wonderful overlaid melodic textures. Fade out.
8. (2:45) **** Instrumental. Eerie ambience. About 1:00 tons of drums roll in. What can I say? I like drums. I really like drums. There are loads of them in this song ----> I like this song. Transitions perfectly into the next track.
9. (5:21) ********** Chanting chanting chanting. Crazy textures and riffs. This is some heavy, awe-inspiring stuff. Serious contender for my track of the year. Maybe I should add more stars. Just when you think it's settling down it ups the intensity even more. Play with track 8 for a killer combo.
10. (5:45) * Slow. Classical piano with musical theater-esque female vocals. About 3:10 in turns into a noise collage of what sounds like lava gurgling until it gradually fades out. Reviewed by Muscat

Track Listing
1. Atalanta   6. Sea Sickness Pt 1
2. Whalesong   7. Sea Sickness Pt 2
3. Lamia   8. Bring Me The Hand Of Bloody Benzaiten
4. Windflower   9. One
5. Hall Of Mirrors   10. Saturn's Return