Eluvium / Nightmare Ending
Album: Nightmare Ending   Collection:General
Artist:Eluvium   Added:Dec 2013
Label:Temporary Residence Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-12-05 Pull Date: 2014-02-14 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 16 Feb 9 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Dec 15 Dec 8
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 3 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 02, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's (Down the Mountain and into the World)
Covered In Writing
4. Feb 12, 2015: The Sunset Life
2. Apr 30, 2015: The Sunset Life
Covered In Writing
5. Dec 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Covered In Writing
3. Mar 05, 2015: The Sunset Life
Rain Gently
6. Jun 26, 2014: The Sunset Life
Covered In Writing

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-12-04
Ambient-drone masterpiece. This is the seventh studio album Portland musician Matthew Cooper has recorded under the Eluvium name, and it’s a rapturously beautiful synthesis of electronics and real instruments—organic music for the 21st century. The sonic complexity of the music somehow gives each piece widescreen proportions and astonishing coziness at the same time; these compositions are engulfing, warm, melodic, melancholy, dramatic, earthy, and gritty. Music that asks the listener to create an accompanying narrative, to imagine.

(Flagrantly non-objective aside: When I first heard Eluvium and a few related artists as an impressionable early teen, my life changed. If you play this, maybe you’ll change some listener’s life, too.)

No words (except 2-7), no FCCs. Favorites: 1-1, 1-4, 2-2, 2-4, 2-5, 2-7.

Disc 1
1. *(9:06)—Stately, neoclassical, bold, major-key. Features piano and organ. Baroque music for the computer age.
2. (7:10)—The swirling, droning counterpart to track one. Brighter, darting tones slide in.
3. (2:15)—Harsher, more metallic tones. Chugging sounds.
4. *(8:42)—Builds slowly and grows noisy. Drones that sound like distant horns, harbingers of something grand yet threatening.
5. (3:53)—Piano. Soothing, welcoming, uplifting.
6. (6:17)—Subdued drones and piano. Chilly, wind-like sounds.
7. (5:22)—Shuffling, machine-like. Glitchy midsection. Triumphant finale.
Disc 2
1. (3:26)—Heavily reverbed piano, swooshing sounds. Fades into track 2.
2. *(8:49)—Sad, epic. Soft, weeping loops. Crescendos gradually to a huge, piano-driven climax.
3. (4:01)—Piano. Simple, peaceful.
4. **(9:18)—Classical feel to this. Muted, drifting first half. Around -4:15, the sounds surge forward, a fuzzy picture brought into blinding clarity. Second half is elegiac, ecstatic, drop-everything-you’re-doing-and-listen beautiful.
5. *(4:20)—Piano. Light, delicate, fluttering.
6. (2:50)—Bass drones, mechanical sounds, slow piano. Long fade-out.
7. *(8:16)—Only vocal piece. Features Ira from Yo La Tengo. Slow, majestic. Layer upon layer of sound appears, and then at -1:00, a soft close.

Track Listing
1. Don't Get Any Closer   8. Chime
2. Warm   9. Rain Gently
3. By The Rails   10. Impromptu (For The Procession)
4. Unknown Variation   11. Covered In Writing
5. Caroling   12. Entendre
6. Sleeper   13. Strange Arrivals
7. Envenom Mettle   14. Happiness