Mccombs, Cass / Big Wheel And Others
Album: Big Wheel And Others   Collection:General
Artist:Mccombs, Cass   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Domino Recording Company  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-28 Pull Date: 2014-02-07
Week Ending: Feb 9 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Dec 8
Airplays: 1 3 3 3 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 22, 2023: Early Riser
Name Written In Water
4. Jan 25, 2023: Early Riser
Name Written In Water
2. Feb 08, 2023: Early Riser
Name Written In Water
5. Mar 04, 2022: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2014)
Honesty Is No Excuse
3. Jan 28, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Name Written In Water
6. Jan 13, 2022: Reckless Burning (rebroadcast from Feb 18, 2017)
There Can Be Only One

Album Review
Stephanie Gutierrez
Reviewed 2013-12-01
Cass McCombs/Big Wheel and Others/Domino. This is California born Cass McCombs’s 7th album. The album is influenced by Western themes and tropes. It has a indie-folk-rock/blues sound to it. Strong country music influences.

DISK 1--Recommended:2,3,6&8. FCC Violation: 4. 5&1 is questionable.
1.:58.“Sean.” Clip from the 1969 documentary Sean. 4-year-old talks about how he does marijuana.
2. *3:40.“Big Wheel.”Country-funk.Imagine driving a truck down a lonesome highway while humming to this.
3. *3:43.“Angel Blood.” Great country-like intro. Country love ballad. Guitar solo.
4. 3:56.“Morning Star.” Folk feel. About a married woman. 1:37 says shit. 3:25 says shitty 4Xs. FCC violation.
5. 6:03.“The Burning of the Temple, 2012.” Jazzy. Saxophone solo. Dark. Slow tempo. Questionable: Talks about burning a cross/temple.
6. **3:57.“Brighter!”Light hearted.Country guitar.Like daydreaming on a Sunday.GREAT chorus.Best song!
7. 4:17.“There Can Be Only One.” Upbeat. Bongos. AM-gold guitars. Song about love.
8. *2:52.“Name Written in Water.” Sounds like something Fleetwood Mac would do today. Thoughtful lyrics.
9. 5:52.“Joe Murder.”Powerful/long intro. Dark/brooding. Saxophone/bass/guitar. Psych-rock. Murder ballad.
10. 8:57. “Everything Has To Be Just-So.” Talk-sings. female vocals. Reflective.

DISK 2--Recommended:6,10&11. FCC Violation: 7&9. 4 is questionable.
1. 3:33.“It Means A Lot To Know You Care.” INSTRUMENTAL. Jazzy/boogie. Funky sounds.
2. 3:19.“Dealing.” Acoustic. Great guitar sounds. Slow tempo/soft vocals.
3. 3:12.“Sooner Cheat Death Than Fool Love.” Country meets folk. Catchy chorus. Filled with heartbreak.
4. 2:39.“Satan Is My Toy.” Racy lyrics about religion. Listener is expected to fill in the blanks for the curse word punchlines. Rock. Saxophone for days.Questionable FCC.
5. 1:11.“Sean II.”Clip from the 1969 documentary Sean.Talks about God, Native Americans & America.
6. *6:38.“Home On The Range.” Folk-rock. Guitar solo. Ode to life in the American West.
7. 3:51.“Brighter!(featuring Karen Black).”Same song from disk1 with higher-pitched female vocals.FCC violation-3:18 says ass.
8. 3:58.“Untitled Spain Song.” Acoustic. Dark/brooding sounds. Moody. Blues feel.
9. :51.“Sean III.” Clip from the 1969 documentary Sean. FCC Violation--child says shit. Talks about police
10. *5:24.“Honesty Is No Excuse.” Blues feel. Multiple guitar solos. Reflection on life and love.
11. *3:36.“Aeon of Aquarius Blues.” Acoustic. Country/blues feel. Great guitar. Relaxing. Repetitive lines.
12. 2:54.“Unearthed.” Fade out ending to a Western film. Ties the album together. Ends the album quietly.

Track Listing
1. Big Wheel   10. It Means A Lot To Know You Care
2. Angel Blood   11. Sooner Cheat Death Than Fool Love
3. Morning Star   12. Satan Is My Toy
4. The Burning Of The Temple, 2012   13. Home On The Range
5. Brighter!   14. Brighter! (Featuring Karen B Lack)
6. There Can Be Only One   15. Untitled Spain Song
7. Name Written In Water   16. Honesty Is No Excuse
8. Joe Murder   17. Aeon Of Aquarius B Lues
9. Everything Has To Be Just-So   18. Unearthed