Grapefruit / Stolen Highway
Album: Stolen Highway   Collection:General
Artist:Grapefruit   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Constellation Tatsu  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-28 Pull Date: 2014-02-07 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 2 Jan 19 Jan 12 Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 29, 2014: minimum entropy
This Endless Tunnel
4. Jan 08, 2014: minimum entropy
This Endless Tunnel
2. Jan 18, 2014: Music Cassrole
This Endless Tunnel
5. Dec 14, 2013: Music Casserole
Sf Chrome
3. Jan 16, 2014: Aporeia
Stolen Highway
6. Dec 13, 2013: Aporeia recap of crazy a.d. 2013
Stolen Highway

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-11-26
Blissful kosmische journeys through bubbling synthesizer soundscapes. Not as beat-driven as Kraftwerk nor as abstract as Klaus Schulze, this is a delicious blend of the carefree melodicism of Tangerine Dream with the ravenously nostalgic energy of Brain Fruit or Bitchin Bajas. Sparkling, sun-drenched loops of heavily processed guitar and keyboards drift in a timeless space of sublime transcendence. Spin this and become reacquainted with the eternal Now.

1. *(4:09) lilting, somnambulant blipping keys and chirping guitar harmonies
2. **(2:56) wobbling krauty synth sequences, headnodding psychedelic portal to a futuristic discotheque
3. (2:54) a sleepy pitter-patter of lazy rhythms and woozy synth; play this track at sunrise
4. ***(3:15) subtle driving loops like Popol Vuh and Tangerine Dream soundtracks with a futuristic edge
5. (2:57) melancholy ambient meditations, sparse moody electric guitar, lonely echoes of conga in the eerie second half
6. **(2:52) scratches that Richard Wright itch, imagine a German synth orchestra jamming on Pink Floyd songs
7. **(4:00) urgent thumping synth rhythms build a graceful, elegant momentum—is this what Conrad Schnitzler’s version of the Tron soundtrack would be like?
8. (2:53) drowsy sunshiney ambience with cluttered conga loops
9. (4:47)*** a slow cycle of tones drifts in the ether until erupting in a glorious, entrancing dance of arpeggios, like the best of Terry Riley

Track Listing
1. Exit Portal   5. King Felix Ii
2. Stolen Highway   6. King Felix
3. Wake Me In Time   7. Escape
4. Sf Chrome   8. Dolphin Love
  9. This Endless Tunnel