Various Artists / Noothgrush/Coffins Split
Album: Noothgrush/Coffins Split   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Southern Lord Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-14 Pull Date: 2014-01-24 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 20, 2016: Brownian Motion
Drown In Revelation
4. Dec 04, 2013: Brownian Motion
Drown In Revelation
2. Dec 13, 2013: Aporeia recap of crazy a.d. 2013
Jundland Wastes
5. Nov 28, 2013: Oh Messy Life
Jundland Wastes
3. Dec 12, 2013: Deathcrush
Drown In Revelation
6. Nov 27, 2013: Brownian Motion
Drown In Revelation

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-11-11
Split release: The soundtrack to you tying the noose you are about to hang yourself with, slowly, meticulously making sure you have the correct number of loops (the number is 13). Like Noothgrush, you gotta get it right. Glorious doom, sludge “metal”. Noothgrush keep the local, once stinking fertile hardcore/metal Redwood City scene alive with the first 3 tracks. Crushingly slow, Sabbath’ed out dreariness dominates. Tracks 4-5 are Coffins, that despite the name sound relatively upbeat. A fucking Karen Carpenter vomit stain in comparison with (relatively) more urgent beats, galloping even, but still dark dark downtuned mindnumbing evil. Music to play while slow roasting Katy Perry’s dismembered corpse.

1) (3:27) slow plod, Sabbath riff, pained/screamed “vocs” shadowing chords
2) (4:55) distant wind sounds then treated samples from the first Star Wars movie, a reference to the title of the track (“Jundland Wastes”, Luke’s home planet, the sound of the Sand People, they used these samples on a track released 10-15 years ago), slow crushing power doom follows
3) (9:02) strange voice samples, looped, slow bass line followed by more despondent slow doom
4) (6:24) Coffins: more of a driving sludge, ride cymbal beat crashing, gutteral death vocs doomier than Noothgrush, lovely lovely stuff, with slow down toward end
5) (5:24) galloping, almost rockin’, heavy as hell

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Noothgrush Humandemic
2. Noothgrush Jundland Wastes
3. Noothgrush Thoth
4. Coffins Drown In Revelation
5. Coffins The Wretched Path