Happy Jawbone Family Band / Happy Jawbone Family Band
Album: Happy Jawbone Family Band   Collection:General
Artist:Happy Jawbone Family Band   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Mexican Summer  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-14 Pull Date: 2014-01-24
Week Ending: Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 5 Dec 15 Nov 24 Nov 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 25, 2014: Grooving with DJ Gu
That Green Light
4. Jan 16, 2014: The Sunset Life
I Don't Wanna Dance Tonight
2. Feb 25, 2014: Grooving with DJ Gu
That Green Light
5. Jan 01, 2014: Meow
Everybody Knows About Daddy
3. Jan 21, 2014: Grooving with DJ Gu
That Green Light
6. Dec 14, 2013: Around The Bend
Mr. Clean, Do You Want Me

Album Review
Stephanie Gutierrez
Reviewed 2013-11-14
Happy Jawbone Family Band / Happy Jawbone Family Band /Mexican Summer . This is the Brattleboro, Vermont band’s new self-titled album. It borders on indie rock while exploring folk and psych-rock. Its sounds are reminiscent of jangle pop. The band successfully blends catchy sounds with the lyrics dark, emotional undertones. I recommend 4, 8 & 11. FCC Violations in 5 and 7.

1. 3:01 “Everybody Knows About Daddy.” Guitar/drum intro. Upbeat tune.
2. 5:03 “I Have to Speak with Rocky Balboa.” Guitar and tambourine sounds. Lyrics end and female voices emerge 3:31. Female voices continue as musical accompaniment disintegrates into psych sounds.
3. 2:10 “D-R-E-A-M-I-N’” Classic guitar intro with “oh” vocals. Upbeat tones.Talks about girl who killed her boyfriend. 1:58 cymbal/gutair sounds.
4.*3:30 “That Green Light.” Mellow sounds at intro. Traditional indie sounds.1:15 Catchy chorus. 1:32-1:37 Guitar solo and again at 2:58-3:19.
5. 4:28 “Hans Christian Andersen’s ‘The Little Mermaid.” Lots of FCC violations/lots of fucks. Dark humor about the real Little Mermaid. Experimental psych ending.
6. 2:14 “Stay-at-Home Soldier” Guitar and piano sounds. Female background vocals. Lyrics are a bit repetitive.
7. 4:23 “Can’t You Hear Me Ticking” slow mellow intro turns into fun upbeat tune. Guitar sounds comes in at :08. Think indie rock dance hall. He says “I got a gun in my rib” at 1:13. Questionable FCC violations.
8. *4:50 “Do You Want Me.” An odd love ballad of sorts.
9. 2:11 “Mr. Clean.” Fun jangle-pop esque tune.
10. 5:02 “I’ll Never Go Skin Deep Again.” Minstrel-ish/strumming intro. Groovy rock. At end, ambient noise (violin sounds).
11. *4:20 “Don’t Wanna Dance Tonight.” Mellow. 1:04 the tempo kicks up as he screams “oh.” 1:23-1:44 guitar/kick drum/no vocals. 3:00-end instrumental/electronic sounds. 0:22 he says guns.

Track Listing
1. Everybody Knows About Daddy   6. Stay-At-Home Soldier
2. I Have To Speak With Rocky Balboa   7. Can't You Hear Me Ticking
3. D-R-E-A-M-I-N'   8. Do You Want Me
4. That Green Light   9. Mr. Clean
5. Hans Christian Andersen's "The Little Mermaid"   10. I'll Never Go Skin Deep Again
  11. I Don't Wanna Dance Tonight