Last Days / Satellite
Album: Satellite   Collection:General
Artist:Last Days   Added:Nov 2013

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-07 Pull Date: 2014-01-09
Week Ending: Dec 15 Dec 8 Nov 17 Nov 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 13, 2013: The Fall of Math
3. Nov 14, 2013: The Sunset Life
Escape Velocity
2. Dec 05, 2013: The Sunset Life
To The Sky
4. Nov 07, 2013: The Sunset Life

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-11-07
With his fourth album as Last Days, multi-instrumentalist Graham Richardson continues to grace us with his gorgeously intimate sonic imagination. This is electro-acoustic music that tends toward the acoustic side of the spectrum (no jarring beats here). Richardson uses his tools (piano, strings, drones, field recordings, &c) to evoke quiet, wintry moments. You know those times when you take long walks in the rain and you feel incredibly alive and everything around you feels incredibly alive as well? This is the sonic equivalent. Play all/any. No vocals, except on track 12. No FCCs.

1. (3:48)— Melancholy, yearning, uplifting. Drones, strings, piano, xylophone.
2. (2:54)—Acoustic guitars, piano, xylophone, bird sounds.
3. (2:18)—Grainy, slightly ominous electronics.
4. (3:10)—Damped piano, crinkling sounds, warm drones.
5. (6:25)—First half: old broadcast about manners, restrained noise, acoustic guitar. Second half: wavering strings, piano.
6. (5:56)—White noise. Soft, uneasy strings.
7. (3:04)—Soothing drones, piano, guitar, xylophone. Sound like a kettle boiling.
8. (2:42)—Reprise of track 1. Strings, rain, soft electronics.
9. (2:30)—Slow, stately organ. Drones, soft electronic taps.
10. (4:10)—Cars on a wet road. Piano, soft drones, buzzing electronic tones, percussive field recordings.
11. (5:36)—River sounds. Soft, hypnotic keyboard. Achingly pretty piano.
12. (4:40)—Vocals from Beth Arzy. Guitar, xylophone, tambourine. Drums, shoegaze guitars enter at the halfway mark. Fades into next track.
13. (10:53)—Slow, serene sonic swell. Layers of drones and strings. Brushed drums.
14. (4:32)—Damped piano, warm drones, xylophone.

Track Listing
1. Theme   8. After The Flood
2. If   9. Inheritance
3. Envelope   10. Expecting Miracles
4. Glow   11. Fidra
5. Satellite   12. New Transmissions
6. Escape Velocity   13. To The Sky
7. Nepenthe   14. Ghosts Of Winter