Taylor, Maria / Something About Knowing
Album: Something About Knowing   Collection:General
Artist:Taylor, Maria   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Saddle Creek  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-07 Pull Date: 2014-01-09
Week Ending: Dec 22 Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 10, 2015: Time Traveler
Up All Night
4. Dec 11, 2013: late night dryer (meow after midnight sub)
Saturday In June
2. Dec 20, 2013: Time Traveler
Up All Night
5. Dec 06, 2013: Time Traveler
Sum Of Our Lives
3. Dec 11, 2013: Sunflower Sutra
Folk Song Melody
6. Dec 04, 2013: Sunflower Sutra
Folk Song Melody

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-11-06
Indie pop extraordinaire: female sing/songwriter playing pop songs crafted in a classic fashion, bringing to mind Bacharrach’isms but staying contemporary enough to appeal to current fans of bands like Belle and Sebastian, Best Coast, Arcade Fire. Edie Brickell comes to mind as well. Guitars bass and drums, synth embellishments, folk organs/banjos in the mix. No “electronica” here. Slick to my ears in places, sounds like what I imagine Coachella type bands do. Great stuff.

1) (3:07) so so poppy folky, extreme melodies, 60’s Bacharach percussion
2) (3:16) swingy pop w/ rootsy guitar elements
3) (4:44) pretty darn slick indie pop, 80’s flare almost
4) (3:32) atmospheric, pretty, slick, well done
5) (2:12) folky simple guitar strummy, melodic vocs, capo’ed G chord stuff, some banjos deep within for subliminal rootsiness
6) (3:52) mid paced happy swaying feel
7) (4:26) sparser, vibrato guitar for first half until chorus appears, lyrics about dumping “adult life”
8) (2:53) quiet fade-in, chill
9) (3:54) simon and garfunkle feel in delivery and folky guitar arpeggios, very nice
10) (3:54) slower, guitar centered

Track Listing
1. Folk Song Melody   6. Something About Knowing
2. Up All Night   7. This Is It
3. Tunnel Vision   8. Broken Objects
4. Sum Of Our Lives   9. Saturday In June
5. You've Got A Way With The Light   10. A Lullaby For You