Head And The Heart, The / Let's Be Still
Album: Let's Be Still   Collection:General
Artist:Head And The Heart, The   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-31 Pull Date: 2014-01-02
Week Ending: Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3
Airplays: 2 2 3 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 16, 2023: Up the Beanstalk
Let's Be Still
4. Oct 28, 2018: Radiant Airwaves
Another Story
2. Feb 01, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Let's Be Still
5. Jul 07, 2018: Hanging in the bone yard
Another Story
3. Mar 30, 2019: Hanging in the Bone Yard
6. Jun 21, 2018: Hangin in the Bone Yard
Let's Be Still

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-10-29
The Head and the Heart/Let’s Be Still/Sub-Pop
Innovative, impressively new sounding second album from THATH that shows a large departure from the debut. In are large amounts of pop-synth, larger sound on produced sounding tracks, and rolling melodic electric guitar riffs. Out are the simple guitar folk-rock numbers. More of a pop-rock sound, however with just enough roots-folk elements, including much violin, to give the songs an edge. Much more angsty lyrics and vocals from female singer Charity Thielen benefit the album. Most songs are still highly Beatlesque piano driven melodies that are deliciously addicting. 6 for upbeat jam rock. 1, 5, 7 for folk-rock with some pop-synth. 10 is the perfect blend of all the above – a must play. 12 is good for Charity’s unique voice and more bare folk, and 13 contains an FCC but has a truly epic build. Local Natives meets Mumford.
1. 3:46* Piano driven and violin backed folk-rock with punctuated drum beat and thoughtful lyrics. Beautiful harmony backing
2. 4:34 Airy piano melody with mellow guitar and a poppy ballad feel. Falsetto vocals give a lighter feel to an undeniably addicting melody. Sad lyrics have soul. Rising wall of sound with choral vocals at end.
3. 0:53 Spacey, chillingly beautiful intro to the next track by the underused Charity on vocals and heavy synth instrumentals
4: 2:53 Heavy synth sound and showcase for Charity’s unique voice in pop romp. 80s pop meets roots rock. Epitome of dream pop. Must be played with previous track.
5. 5:13* Simpler folk early on with interesting key sounds, guitar rhythm. Builds with heavy strings. Achingly gorgeous.
6. 4:01* Electric jam, with a moving bass grove, and rolling melodic guitar. Harmony pulled addicting sing-along chorus. Uplifting lyrics. Reflects first album the most.
7. 4:59* Soulful lamenting lyrics show depth to folky ballad with elements of country. Switching of lead vocals and violin a highlight. Simple yet powerful song.
8. 4:28 Poppy synth song with very laid back vibe and fuzzy vocals with varied leads (Charity a highlight). Wise lyrics show perspective. Love acoustic close.
9. 3:22 Highly Beatle-esque with bouncing piano and harmony backings. Angsty lyrics.
10. 4:12* My favorite. Nice acoustic guitar riff leads the painful lyrics lead innovative song. Filled with harmonies, violin and piano. Bridge is incredible Revolver sounding psychadelia that engages the rest of the song
11. 4:15 Pop synth intro leads into mellow feel lead by piano chords. Drums build to fiery, moving vocal finish. You can feel the soul in this one.
12. 4:14 Sparse rootsy folk a vehicle for Charity’s vocals. Just guitar and heavy harmonica at the end.
13. 6:26* FCC. A track of epic ambition. Heavy backing reverb is cut into by soaring vocals, violin and piano. Choral harmonies add more to the wall of sound in a huge build towards the end.

Track Listing
1. Homecoming Heroes   7. Cruel
2. Another Story   8. Let's Be Still
3. Springtime   9. My Friends
4. Summertime   10. 10,000 Weight In Gold
5. Josh Mcbride   11. Fire/Fear
6. Shake   12. These Days Are Numbered
  13. Gone