Cosmonauts, The / Persona Non Grata
Album: Persona Non Grata   Collection:General
Artist:Cosmonauts, The   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Burger Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-24 Pull Date: 2013-12-26
Week Ending: Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3
Airplays: 4 3 5 4 4 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 09, 2017: moodswings
4. Dec 28, 2013: Meow
Sweet Talk
2. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
Pure Posture
5. Dec 14, 2013: Space House
Dirty Harry
3. Jan 01, 2014: Meow
Dirty Harry
6. Dec 12, 2013: The Sunset Life
Dirty Harry

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-10-24
Slow but upbeat, fuzzy, jangly, poppy, psych from Orange County on Burger Records. Bright if occasionally detached music over reverbed darker male vox; a lot druggier, hazier, plodding than much of the Bay Area psych (at least the poppy stuff) we've gotten lately. Blissed out and accented by feedback at all the right places; much of the band's press refers to their use of VU-style droning guitars. Lyrics dark, lots of references to young peoples' ages, frustrations, bad fates.

RIYL Royal Baths, Sic Alps, Crystal Stilts, Spacemen 3, Blasted Canyons, Coke Weed

*1 (3:34) Chiming guitars, head-nodding beat, frustrated tone
2 (6:29) Noisy guit open, transitions into slow pounding beat with crashes of stony guitar. Sun-drenched falsetto backing "oo"s for the final couple minutes
3 (3:30) Jangling guitar, handclaps, almost reverbed out vox about what happens to girls on the bad part of town
4 (6:38) A touch of desert twang and constant tambourine complement sludgey pace and feel very well
*5 (3:49) FCC FUCK Punchy rhythm section, noisy searing guitars
6 (4:52) Sparkling guitars shimmer around low vox and laid back rhythm
*7 (3:16) Upbeat driving rocker, one guitar jangles and another is distorted beyond recognition, vox unintelligible; play loud
*8 (6:26) 45 seconds of an almost trip-hop rhythm open, before launching into another sunny, stony scorcher; some catchy licks
9 (5:05) Countrified space guitar joins the deliberate plod you've come to expect
10 (4:06) Slightly harsh droning shoegaze fuzz over what's got to be a drum machine and buried nasally spoke-song vox; repetitive, totally different from the other tracks but pretty great in its own right

Track Listing
1. Shaker   6. Vanilla
2. Wear Your Hair Like A Weapon   7. Dirty Harry
3. Sweet Talk   8. Pure Posture
4. My Alba   9. Summertime Blue
5. What Me Worry?   10. I'm So Bored With You