Hank3 / Brothers Of The 4x4
Album: Brothers Of The 4x4   Collection:Country
Artist:Hank3   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Hank3 Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-17 Pull Date: 2013-12-19 Charts: Country/Bluegrass
Week Ending: Dec 22 Dec 1 Nov 17 Nov 10 Oct 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 19, 2013: Meow After Midnight
Ain't Broken Down
4. Nov 06, 2013: Gegenchang
The Outdoor Plan
2. Nov 27, 2013: Gegencang
The Outdoor Plan, Hurtin For Certin
5. Oct 26, 2013: The Iron Skillet
Brothers Of The 4x4
3. Nov 13, 2013: Gegencang
Deep Scars

Album Review
The Grunt
Reviewed 2013-10-18
Artist: Hank III // Album: Brothers of the 4x4

Hank III is the fucking man! Son of the son of the man who really started it all. Loves to sing about drinkin, druggin, being a country rebel, and the occasional tear-in-my-beer song. First two songs here start the album off wrong / boring, BUT IT GETS A LOT BETTER…skip those. Whoever mixed the album must usually do metal albums because the kicks and the snares are surprisingly deep and clear…also you do hear some double-bass which is peculiar for a country album. Generally not much cursing here, except for the occasional "Hell" for emphasis. A solid album; play it!!!

Only serious FCC on #11, but it's a nice one…safe harbor
Plus signs indicate best songs. CHECK THAT SECOND DISC MAYNG!
Best songs: 1-6, 1-8, 2-1, 2-2, 2-4

Disc 1
1.) Straightforward mid-tempo country song
2.) Kinda upbeat and poppy. Possible FCC: Damned?
3.) + + Upbeat with banjo and fiddle. Double-bass drums! About tearing it up and being a rebel.
4.) + + Mid-tempo low feeling kinda depressing about the end / death of a relationship
5.) + Upbeat love song to the world / the different states of the USA Possible FCC "Raise Hell"
6.) + + + Old-timey country feel (ala Woody Guthrie), trumpet and trombone in there, vocal impersonation of a jaw-harp, love song to the outdoors
7.) Slow one about struggling through life
8.) + + + Upbeat, slap bass. About his favorite huntin dog "My dog's a-sayin it's a good huntin day"
9.) + Slow depressing song about the grind of life. "I ain't broken down, i'm just broke"
10.) I wish this song were faster. "I'm driftin all around trying to have a rockin rowdy time"
11.) + Just like his grandpappy used to do it. Slow sad beautiful pedal steel. FCC: "Cold-hearted cunts".
12.) + + Banjo and Primus-style bass. Most unique song on the disc for sure. Says "Hell" once.

Disc 2
1.) + + + Super-old-timey (like 1920s) mandolin folk style. Could have been an Alan Lomax field recording! Awesome! Unique!
2.) + + + HAHA! Funny-ass super fun old-timey country (like 1950s) song. Cool vocal harmonies. Accordion!
3.) + + Boogie-version of disc1-track9. Extended jam. Heavy metal style solo in there!
4.) + + + Bass plays kinda jug-band style. Fun rebel song. Super upbeat at the end!

-The Grunt

Track Listing
1. Nearly Gone   9. Ain't Broken Down
2. Hurtin For Certin   10. Overdrive
3. Brothers Of The 4x4   11. Loners 4 Life
4. Farthest Away   12. Dread Full Drive
5. Held Up   13. Gettin Dim
6. The Outdoor Plan   14. Possum In A Tree
7. Deep Scars   15. Broken Boogie
8. Looky Yonder Commin   16. Toothpickin