Silentist / Silentist
Album: Silentist   Collection:General 12"
Artist:Silentist   Added:Sep 2013
Label:Celestial Gang  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-11-07 Pull Date: 2014-01-09 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Dec 8 Nov 17
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 12, 2014: Deathcrush
4. Nov 15, 2013: Aporeia
2. Feb 10, 2014: Deathcrush
Entropy, Execution, Hex
5. Nov 14, 2013: Deathcrush
3. Dec 05, 2013: Deathcrush
6. May 27, 1984: Cool Vinyl Hiding In The Library

Album Review
The Grunt
Reviewed 2013-11-05
Artist: Silentist // Album: Silentist

This is awesome avant doom black metal played with a piano instead of a guitar. Piano, drums, vocals, fucking cool. This record is actually from 2008 but since it's rare, deeeeep underground, and amazingly good, i figured it deserved a review since it showed up here at the station. So many good songs! 33RPM.

A1.) Koan - Piano, simple slow chords, then some rumbling dissonance
A2.) + Seizures - Pounding beat, weird sliding tones, falling piano arpeggios, screaming
A3.) + + Hex - Furious piano arpeggios and whisper-like black metal screams. Really cool!
A4.) + Execution - Deep driving piano chords and desperate screams.
A5.) + + Entropy - Twinkling piano and feedback, clean vox, eventually gets a little heavier but this is a sad one. So good.

B1.) Anesthetic - Slow sombre chords, leads pretty cleanly into the next track
B2.) + Bars - Sparse dissonant staccato piano chords, pounding on a detuned bass drum, and then piano grindcore…oh yeah! If you play this one, start at track B1.
B3.) Verdelet - Starts pretty but then gets frantic on piano. Electric guitar notes. Quickly alternative fast/slow bits.
B4.) Return - Short and sweet piano track.
B5.) + Repulsive Resurrection - Pummels you in the beginning then backs off some.

-The Grunt

Track Listing
1. Koan   6. Anesthetic
2. Seizures   7. Bars
3. Hex   8. Verdelet
4. Execution   9. Return
5. Entropy   10. Repulsive Resurrection