Segall, Ty / Sleeper
Album: Sleeper   Collection:General
Artist:Segall, Ty   Added:Aug 2013
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-01 Pull Date: 2013-11-03
Week Ending: Nov 3 Oct 27 Oct 20 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15
Airplays: 2 3 1 3 2 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 26, 2023: Altitude Sickness
The West, Queen Lullabye
4. Mar 03, 2015: The Fishbowl
The West
2. Jun 12, 2022: Lunar Echoes
Come Outside
5. May 14, 2014: A Family Affair
The West
3. Jul 20, 2021: Tunes (rebroadcast from Sep 6, 2013)
6th Street, Come Outside, Crazy
6. Mar 20, 2014: Stringless Balloon

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-08-28
Mostly acoustic, folky one from SFs favorite garage-psych son (now relocated to his hometown of LA). A big shift from his electric stuff, written largely in response to some upheaval in his personal life; a logical follow-up from Goodbye Bread, if he hadn't released so much since then. Still buzzy, still owing a lot to the classics, and still great stuff; if this doesn't jive with some fans of his louder 2012 work it will find at least as many fans elsewhere (on the indie/deep cut 60s/70s shows). No FCCs detected.

RIYL: T Rex, folky Bowie, White Fence, John Lennon

1 (3:55) Quiet intro, sad, mid-slow, minor-key, buzzy despite being only acoustic
2 (3:43) Shaky vox, impending doom vibe, a few disillusioned psychy touches
*3 (2:29) Sparse, just acoustic guitar and Ty, lots of falsetto and strumming
4 (3:18) Desert blues; guitar and reverbed vox, with a screaming electric solo at the end
5 (3:50) Lo-fi sad 60s folk rock inspired by Spector et al (strings), lyrics invoke a funeral, Beatlesque
6 (4:34) Another psych-folk number, fast beat+guitar behind slow, fuzzed out vox
7 (2:56) Bluesy guitar, you'd expect a harmonica but get guitar being played like a mandolin or banjo; semi-falsetto vox
8 (3:37) Guitars both plucky and buzzy, Lennony vox,
*9 (4:22) Slurred out druggy, echoing plod, builds before culminating in a loud, noisy outro
**10 (3:16) Top-notch folk-rock; great guitar work, lyrics re: personal lack of direction, light reverb; riffs/pop factor kick up in second half

Track Listing
1. Sleeper   6. Come Outside
2. The Keepers   7. 6th Street
3. Crazy   8. Sweet C.C.
4. The Man Man   9. Queen Lullabye
5. She Don't Care   10. The West