Califone / Stitches
Album: Stitches   Collection:General
Artist:Califone   Added:Aug 2013
Label:Dead Oceans  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-01 Pull Date: 2013-11-03
Week Ending: Oct 27 Oct 20 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2014: The Sunset Life
4. Oct 24, 2013: The Sunset Life
Bells Break Arms
2. Jan 30, 2014: The Sunset Life
Bells Break Arms
5. Oct 19, 2013: Around The Bend
A Thin Skin Of Bullfight Dust
3. Jan 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Bells Break Arms
6. Oct 10, 2013: Sun and Sparrows
We Are A Payphone

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-08-27
Califone are longtime practitioners of a uniquely oblique, deconstructed Americana, and with this album they continue to hone and expand their craft. Recorded in Southern California, Arizona, and Texas, the Tim Rutili-led Chicago band aims for a slightly more western sound here. At the core of this album, though, is the band’s deep fascination with the decay and intersection of folk traditions and technology. The music is loose, lush, detailed, and bit jagged around the edges. Good to have Rutili & co. back. Favorites: 2, 4, 5, 8, 9. FCC WARNING: 6, 7.

1. (4:22)—Mid-tempo, twangy, calm. Slide guitar, piano, bleepy keyboard.
2. *(3:35)—Mid-tempo. Minimal acoustic and electronic percussion, keyboards, soft horns. Nearly mournful.
3. (4:03)—Mid-tempo. Loose, shambling rock ‘n’ roll. “Here we are, watching the new world die.”
4. *(5:20)—Medium-slow waltz. Piano, group vocals, keening pedal steel. Glitchy electronics appear near the end.
5. *(5:03)—Very slow, desolate keyboard intro. Piano and ghostly, multi-tracked vocals. Manipulated tabla enters two minutes in.
6. (6:42)—FCC WARNING (b****). Slow. A vaguely country/western melting pot of sonic ideas; we get distorted guitars, acoustic guitars, steel guitars, harmonica, piano, multi-tracked vocals.
7. (4:10)—FCC WARNING (f***, “I came in my pants”). Acoustic guitar and vocals provide the backbone, and strings and piano provide some lovely accentuation.
8. *(5:53)—Medium-fast, driving, lush. Super-primitive drum programming alternates with real drums. A rich mesh of sonic textures, ranging from backing vocals to backmasked guitars—flit in and out.
9. *(4:18)—Slow, twangy. Multi-tracked vocals, horns, shakers, soft drones.
10. (2:39)—Instrumental. Lots of backmasked instruments, gurgling sounds.

Track Listing
1. Movie Music Kills A Kiss   6. Moonbath.Brainsalt.A.Holy.Fool
2. Stitches   7. Moses
3. Frosted Tips   8. A Thin Skin Of Bullfight Dust
4. Magdalene   9. We Are A Payphone
5. Bells Break Arms   10. Turtle Eggs/An Optimist