Blondy, Alpha / Mystic Power
Album: Mystic Power   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Blondy, Alpha   Added:Jul 2013
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-07-28 Pull Date: 2013-09-29 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8 Sep 1 Aug 25 Aug 18 Aug 11
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 15, 2019: FYW RADIO
Hope Feat. Beenie Man
4. Sep 15, 2013: New World Disorder
Reconciliation Feat. Tiken Jah Fakoly
2. Mar 02, 2019: The Acupuncture Hour/Audio Ambrosia
J'ai Tue Le Commissaire
5. Sep 10, 2013: Good Day Sunshine
My American Dream
3. Sep 22, 2013: New World Disorder
La Bataille D'abidjan
6. Sep 05, 2013: no way to say
J'ai Tue Le Commissaire

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2013-07-28
Alpha Blondy – Mystic Power
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/28/13
One of Africa’s biggest Reggae stars, from the Cote d-Ivoire. Somewhat more commercial production than I’d prefer, but the music is forceful and the lyrics even more so.
1. 4:27 **Afro-Dancehall chanting, forceful mid-tempo march riddim. Unfortunate auto-tuner on vocals. Beenie Man’s toast is quite nice, though.
2. 4:56 ****fun downtempo electronic skank. Diatribe about the American Dream…
3. 5:04 ***strong cover of “I Shot the Sheriff” in French.
4. 4:39 *****big downtempo stepping razor skank with lots of horns and electric guitar, strong backing vocals. Lots of power.
5. 3;48 ****downtempo roots rock reggae. Great sound. Lyrics in French and Arabic – I wish I knew more French…
6. 4:26 ****ha! Intro to “The Good, The Bad and the Ugly” in horns – love it! Uptempo, bouncy one-drop.
7. 3:56 ***Tarzan yell! Goshers… Swingy downtempo bubble. Something tells me he’s no more enamoured of France than of America… Just a guess…
8. 4:32 ***ululation, then midtempo skank, interesting flute sound, lyrics in English.
9. 3:41 ***upbeat and uptempo bubble. Lyrics mostly in Dioula, I think?
10. 4:13 ***strong electric guitar skank. Very sincere sounding love song.
11. 4:20 *****lots of laughter, then midtempo classic roots rock reggae skank. Great sound, Rasta sociopolitical lyrics.
12. 4:15 ****midtempo bubble w/ electric guitar and electronics.
13. 6:23 ****pretty folk-pop intro, midtempo bouncy roots bubble, lyrics in several languages and several vocalists.
14. 4:47 **downbeat and downtempo piano, singing in French. Almost a hymn.

Track Listing
1. Hope Feat. Beenie Man   8. Ouarzazate
2. My American Dream   9. Soutra
3. J'ai Tue Le Commissaire   10. Woman
4. Seydou   11. Rasta Bourgeois
5. Crime Spirituel   12. Danger Ivoirite
6. La Bataille D'abidjan   13. Reconciliation Feat. Tiken Jah Fakoly
7. France A Fric   14. Pardon