Lightning Dust / Fantasy
Album: Fantasy   Collection:General
Artist:Lightning Dust   Added:Jul 2013

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-09 Pull Date: 2013-11-11
Week Ending: Nov 10 Oct 27 Oct 20 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 1 2 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 21, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Jul 30, 2021)
4. Jan 05, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Loaded Gun
2. Sep 17, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Fire Me Up
5. Mar 03, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Jul 30, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
6. Nov 11, 2016: Time Traveler
Loaded Gun

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2013-09-04
“Fantasy” Lightning Dust
Vancouver, B.C.-based indie duo Amber Webber and Josh Wells — otherwise known as Lightning Dust — can’t be accused of making the same CD twice. Following 2007’s indie folk debut and 2009’s more traditional indie rock follow-up, Fantasy is minimalist synth pop. The ten tracks range from the brash, staccato synths of “Loaded Gun” to the fragile phrases and soaring swells of “Agatha.” There’s even an acoustic number, “Moon,” featuring Webber’s guitar. And Wells’ piano and keyboards are evident throughout. Where so much of today’s electro pop sounds the same, Lightning Dust combines a little Bat for Lashes with the Chromatics — and maybe even borrows inspiration from names as far afield as Suicide or Kate Bush — and blends everything into a sound that’s completely its own.
— Francis

Recommended: 6, 1, 9, 2, 5, 8, 10. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:34) Diamond — Up-tempo beats, pulsing synths, and various loops provide the perfect foundation for Webber’s restless, soaring vocals. The first single release and a great CD opener. ****
2. (3:55) Reckless and Wild — Circular synth squiggles at the start dissolve into lush synth chords. Chilling vocals. ****
3. (3:45) Mirror — Plaintive vocals about “paper-thin walls,” set over a jittery drum track and lounge-style disco synth waves.
4. (3:14) Moon — Acoustic guitar ballad. Synths add an orchestral base during the second verse.
5. (4:20) Fire Me Up — Propulsive synth loops and percussion evoke images of some futuristic transport. Light synth melody floats above. ***
6. (4:03) Loaded Gun — Urgent, mesmerizing synths with jittery rhythm, set against a persistent backbeat and Webber’s pleading vocals. One of the best on the CD! ****
7. (5:02) In the City Tonight — Haunting tune — vocals echo in desperation, carried along by another complex rhythm track, with steady thwacks, jittery finger taps and keyboards.
8. (4:21) Fire, Flesh and Bone — Sounds a bit like a spacey Bat for Lashes tune, with ominous pulsing synths. **
9. (4:11) Agatha — Beautiful soaring ballad accompanied by sparse electric piano. Exceptional vocals. Rich cello in lead break. Extraordinary! ****
10. (3:06) Never Again — Pop-anthem, populated by soft synths, provides a strong close to the set. **

Track Listing
1. Diamond   6. Loaded Gun
2. Reckless And Wild   7. In The City Tonight
3. Mirror   8. Fire, Flesh And Bone
4. Moon   9. Agatha
5. Fire Me Up   10. Never Again