Little Boots / Nocturnes
Album: Nocturnes   Collection:General
Artist:Little Boots   Added:Jun 2013
Label:On Repeat Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-07-01 Pull Date: 2013-09-02
Week Ending: Aug 25 Aug 18 Jul 28 Jul 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 22, 2013: The Doldrummer
4. Jul 10, 2013: Meow After Midnight
2. Aug 14, 2013: Meow After Midnight
5. Jun 26, 2013: Minding The Gap - farewell.
3. Jul 25, 2013: The Doldrummer

Album Review
Grumpy Sean
Reviewed 2013-06-26
Second full-length release from Victoria Hesketh (formerly of Dead Disco), which was held up for at least a year to sort out record label machinations and resulted in a pseudo-self-released arrangement. "Nocturnes" is a major improvement over her debut album, "Hands," which had been studio-polished to the point of removing all traces of organic matter. Taken as a whole, the album is quite comparable to the danceable side of recent Saint Etienne releases, with a clear focus on making songs that are already being remixed for the indie dance clubs. Clear (if slightly thin) female vocals, all music sampled or synthesized. No FCCs.

1. * med(-), totally worships / apes Saint Etienne
2. * med(-), great chorus, totally built for remixes
3. med, somewhat disjointed between verses and chorus
4. med(+), languid but moving groove
5. * med, pure disco
6. * med, slightly dark verses contrast with bright chorus
7. med, pseudo-inspirational, tries too hard
8. med(-), sounds borrowed from an 80s teen movie soundtrack
9. med-, chill-out tune
10. med, another well-performed Saint Etienne rip

Track Listing
1. Motorway   6. Every Night I Say A Prayer
2. Confusion   7. Crescendo
3. Broken Record   8. Strangers
4. Shake   9. All For You
5. Beat Beat   10. Satellite