Iggy & The Stooges / Ready To Die
Album: Ready To Die   Collection:General
Artist:Iggy & The Stooges   Added:May 2013
Label:Fat Possum Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-06-03 Pull Date: 2013-08-05
Week Ending: Aug 4 Jul 28 Jul 21 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 3 3 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2022: New World Disorder (rebroadcast from Jul 7, 2013)
4. Sep 25, 2013: Meow After Midnight: The Best Of Summer 2013
2. Jun 25, 2016: Music Casserole
5. Aug 03, 2013: Meow
3. Jan 15, 2015: Meow: The Best Of The Decade So Far (2010-2014)...The Sequel!
6. Jul 21, 2013: New World Disorder
Ready To Die

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-05-31
They got the band back together: Original folks from the Raw Power era reunited for the first time. Basic Detroit rock, based in the crotch, wanky 70’s feel, certainly reminiscent of their original works. Iggy’s unique vocals don’t disappoint and the lyrics are as cynical and scatching as ever (no rocking chair for Iggy, he aint “gone acoustic” yet – except on track 9, 10 maybe). Simple stuff, brass appears in a Motown sorta way here and there, lush, and produced with a “pop” (like pretty much all his stuff of late). Check out his contribution to The BPA and his early work, and the Salt and Peppa track on the stooges on the DJ Soulwax stuff.

1) (3:37) driving if minor keyed, straight up rawk man, 70’s damaged
2) (3:19) FCC sax appears, fun beat
3) (3:05) FCC, nice rock but a the chorus goes “…but it don’t pay shit”, easily edited in real time
4) (3:08) FCC
5) (3:46) acoustic guitar, smarmy and weird, Iggy Pop gets philosophical and sensitive, great
6) (3:06) title track, cock rockin
7) (3:13) Motown bass line and tambourine, brass, somewhat lewd dirty old man lyrics
8) (3:43) FCC
9) (3:15) iggy goes acoustic, sorta, ballad rock, nice backup fem vocs, wanky guitar lead
10) (4:37) now I wanna be your dog motif on acoustic guitar bookends this mellower “let me in the Not Strictly Bluegrass Fest door” piece (mark my words, bizarre as it sounds…), “by the end of the game we all get thrown under the bus”

Track Listing
1. Burn   6. Ready To Die
2. Sex & Money   7. Dd's
3. Job   8. Dirty Deal
4. Gum   9. Beat That Guy
5. Unfriendly World   10. The Departed