Savages / Silence Yourself
Album: Silence Yourself   Collection:General
Artist:Savages   Added:May 2013
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-07-01 Pull Date: 2013-09-02
Week Ending: Sep 1 Aug 25 Aug 18 Aug 11 Jul 21 Jul 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 14, 2019: truth to force
She Will
4. Dec 29, 2015: Shytown and Friends
She Will
2. Jun 24, 2016: a strange pursuit
Waiting For A Sign
5. Mar 09, 2015: Shytown: Women's Day
City's Full
3. Feb 12, 2016: A Visit From Drum (Valentine's)
I Am Here
6. Mar 18, 2014: Meow After Midnight
She Will

Album Review
Conor Doherty
Reviewed 2013-06-26
Fast, bombastic post-punk. Sounds more than a little like Joy Division. The London-based quartet have the makings of a healthy relationship with their music which they describe as "PHYSICAL" and "EMOTIONAL." If the song descriptions seem similar, it's because they…have a well-defined sound. The vocals are impassioned but precise. Not sure what most of the lyrics are about, but it's not sunshine and puppies. Tracks 7 and 10 showcase their ability to keep it reserved before releasing the PHYSICAL and EMOTIONAL onslaught. FCC clean.

1. (4:48) audio sample form Cassavetes' Opening Night, strong repeating bass line, guitar spends half the song playing the same chord, the other half wandering.
2. (3:21) feedback and pounding toms turns into explosion of cymbals, howling outro.
3. (3:27) crunchy, muted guitar. The bassist must be pretty bored of playing that riff.
4. (3:58) decent drum and guitar echo intro, lots of distortion and warbling vocals.
5. (5:26) slow and heavy, lots of high-pitched feedback
6. (2:07) interesting percussive string effects and bells [interlude]
*7. (3:27) the most Joy Division-y of the bunch. So Joy Division-y. Final minute is awesome.
8. (3:36) metal-ish guitar intro…and now it's back to post-punk. Lyrics laying the "no face" metaphor on pretty thick.
9. (1:41) punk drums and lots of distorted string scraping.
*10. (2:50) fast, high energy, loud-quiet-loud
11. (4:04) clean sound compared with ever-present distortion on rest of album. piano and saxaphone. feels out of place.

Track Listing
1. Shut Up   6. Dead Nature
2. I Am Here   7. She Will
3. City's Full   8. No Face
4. Strife   9. Hit Me
5. Waiting For A Sign   10. Husbands
  11. Marshal Dear