Cooper, Mike / White Shadows In The South Seas
Album: White Shadows In The South Seas   Collection:General
Artist:Cooper, Mike   Added:May 2013
Label:Room 40  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-09 Pull Date: 2014-07-11 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 1 May 18
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 10, 2014: The Sunset Life
What Cares Paradise
4. Jul 01, 2014: Z҉͟O̴̢͜D̡͏I͘A̢͜͡C̴&
Night Flower Tapu, Po Mahina (Trad. Arr. Cooper)
2. Jul 08, 2014: Z҉͟O̴̢͜D̡͏I͘A̢͜͡C̴&
Night Flower Tapu
5. Jun 30, 2014: Porcelain Goldfish
A White Shadow Passes, White Shadows
3. Jul 05, 2014: Proselytizer Radio News Hour
White Shadows
6. Jun 25, 2014: Meow After Midnight
Meowing After Midnight

Album Review
Mike Johnson
Reviewed 2014-06-15
Artist: Cooper, Mike
Album: White Shadows in the South Seas
Label: Unknown
Genre: General

Reviewed by: Mike (Boogie) Johnson
In general this is an album of downtempo/ambient rhythms mixed with nature sounds. Tracks are FCC friendly. My favorite track would be #3 White Shadows.

1. Dr. Derelict / nature sounds of birds singing over a smooth tropical groove.
2. Beached / Crickets sounds alongside mischievous creeping insect-like tones.
3. White Shadows / rhythmic drums mixed with a montage of surfer instruments.
4. Po Mahina / mellow guitar riffs with a matching baseline.
5. Night Flower Tapu / Mysterious minimal drums and bass with twangy surfer melodies.
6. Each Day At Dusk / Soft repeating melody with the sound of electricity.
7. What Cares paradise / More birds and natures sounds with various soft instruments.
8. A White Shadow Passes / More of an Electronica sound but still with the same twang!
9. Lung Collapse / difficult to explain, it sounds like a Swamp!
10. Steady tones with Sci Fi spacey tones, tweets, bleeps and sweeps.
11. TikiTampoo / has the same rhythm as track #1 with a constant high pitch.
12. Hilo Hanakahi / Mild western themed twangy guitar strings.
13. Tapu Lifted / Steady stream of wavy sound as if floating in space.
14. Jalan Sam Heng / Natures Sounds

Track Listing
1. Dr. Derelict   8. A White Shadow Passes
2. Beached   9. Lung Collapse
3. White Shadows   10. The Ordeal
4. Po Mahina (Trad. Arr. Cooper)   11. Tiki Tampoo
5. Night Flower Tapu   12. Hilo Hanakahi (Trad. Arr. Cooper)
6. Each Day At Dusk   13. Tapu Lifted
7. What Cares Paradise   14. Jalan Sam Heng