Sirota, Nadia / Baroque
Album: Baroque   Collection:Classical
Artist:Sirota, Nadia   Added:May 2013
Label:Bedroom Community  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-22 Pull Date: 2013-11-24 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Oct 27 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 22, 2024: Music Casserole
Tooth And Nail
4. Oct 11, 2013: Fight or Flight
Tooth And Nail
2. May 18, 2024: Music Casserole
In Teaching Others We Teach Ourselves
5. Oct 03, 2013: The Peninsula Report
From The Invisible To The Visible
3. Oct 23, 2013: minimum entropy
From The Invisible To The Visible
6. Sep 25, 2013: minimum entropy
Sleep Variations

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2013-09-18

American violist Nadia Sirota plays multiple overlaid tracks, accompanied (usually quietly) by keys, electronics. Very good; just a little challenging. Best tracks:
#2 the best crossover of electronic and classical; may appeal to the broadest audience.
#3 the best “straightforward” contemporary classical

All instrumental; No FCC issues.

1 * Slow to mid. Impressionistic (suggestions of nature). In places harsh, in others lyrical; on the whole a listenable piece. Viola is the dominant instrument throughout; otherwise there’s a bit of percussion and some noise. At least three viola tracks overlaid: one high, one low, a third pizzicato. (10:00)

2 ** Slow. A blend of viola playing beautiful lyrical melodies, a synthesizer playing little waterfall descending runs, and a quiet organ. A hypnotic trance-like feel. (4:01)

3 ** Slow to mid-fast; energetic throughout. An ensemble sound made from multiple viola tracks in different registers, techniques, tones. Sounds like something Kronos Quartet would do. Definitely contemporary, but not harsh or atonal. Compelling, enjoyable piece. (10:00)

4 * Mid-fast. Light & playful. Short, technical passages (an etude) on viola; organ continuo. (5:03)

5 Very slow. Opens with low electronic rumble lasting almost 2 min. Viola & organ quietly emerge, quiet & somber. Grows in intensity, but stays slow & sad. After 4 min, electronic noises. (9:33)

6 Very slow. Strange & avant-garde. Mysterious & dreamlike (maybe a nightmare). Viola is less dominant here: there’s much more organ and electronics than on others. (14:11)

Track Listing
1. In Teaching Others We Teach Ourselves   4. Etude 3
2. From The Invisible To The Visible   5. Tristan Da Cunha
3. Tooth And Nail   6. Sleep Variations