Tyler, William / Impossible Truth
Album: Impossible Truth   Collection:General
Artist:Tyler, William   Added:May 2013
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-05-13 Pull Date: 2013-07-15
Week Ending: Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26 May 19
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 1 3 2 9

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 13, 2015: The Sunset Life (Extended Coda)
Country Of Illusion
4. Sep 23, 2014: The Sunset Life
Country Of Illusion
2. Jan 22, 2015: The Sunset Life
Hotel Catatonia
5. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
Cadillac Desert
3. Oct 02, 2014: The Sunset Life
The World Set Free
6. Nov 15, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
The Geography Of Nowhere

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-05-08
Dreamy folk-rock instrumentals with a keen eye for dynamics and harmonic complexity, the kind of stuff Crosby & Stills could only dream of making. We’ve heard William Tyler’s more abstract side on Three Lobed’s guitar compilation “Eight Trails, One Path” along with heavyweights such as Sir Richard Bishop and Steve Gunn; he’s contributed to recordings by Wooden Wand, and is currently on tour with Hiss Golden Messenger. Diverse instrumentation keeps stuff soothing and interesting throughout. RIYL fingerpicking, David Crosby’s wordless songs, any artist mentioned above.

1. (8:59) sweeping, majestic arpeggios take us on a journey, accompanied by gentle bass and nostalgic lap-steel guitar
2. (6:22) dark bluesy wandering gets neoclassical, brightens up into a folksy romp
3. (6:37)** bright lilting melodies dancing around, driven by a strong fuzz-bass bottom
4. (6:17) brooding, pensive, yet somehow sunshiney acoustic fingerpicking; when the electric guitar comes in, the fingers pick up the pace a bit
5. (5:53)* solo acoustic picking, elegiac and bittersweet, just what your heart wants to hear when it’s down instead of your go-to breakup song; ends on a positive note… a silver lining, maybe…
6. (4:26) happy electric guitar theme rambles along, sounding not unlike an Irish folk tune with some hillbilly touches
7. (5:15) soft, melancholy, rapidly winding electric guitar lullaby with some eastern harmonies thrown in an otherwise very western composition
8. (10:15)*** wandering finger picking builds into a steady theme, joined around ~4mins by additional guitars and a drumset(!); doesn’t get too wild, but definitely a case of ending the album on a high note.

Track Listing
1. Country Of Illusion   5. A Portrait Of Sarah
2. The Geography Of Nowhere   6. Hotel Catatonia
3. Cadillac Desert   7. The Last Residents Of Westfall
4. We Can't Go Home Again   8. The World Set Free