Iron & Wine / Ghost On Ghost
Album: Ghost On Ghost   Collection:General
Artist:Iron & Wine   Added:May 2013
Label:Nonesuch Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-05-27 Pull Date: 2013-07-29
Week Ending: Jul 28 Jul 21 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 21, 2018: Traditions
Winter Prayers
4. Dec 27, 2013: Time Traveler
Baby Center Stage
2. Dec 19, 2014: Time Traveler
Grace For Saints And Ramblers
5. Dec 20, 2013: Time Traveler
Grace For Saints And Ramblers
3. Jan 10, 2014: Time Traveler (Top 35 Indie CDs of 2013)
Grace For Saints And Ramblers
6. Nov 01, 2013: Time Traveler
Grace For Saints And Ramblers

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2013-05-24
“Ghost on Ghost” Iron & Wine
Samuel Beam’s fifth, full-length, studio CD. Started as a low-fi, indie folk artist in 2002, but has worked hard over the years to move and grow within the indie folk-rock genre. Some of Beam’s efforts work on this album; some don’t. But while the CD is inconsistent, the high points noted below make it well worth playing.
— Francis

Recommended: 12, 5, 1, 4, 9, 2. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:12) Caught in the Briars — Fades in with disjointed playing as if from a band’s warm-up before the conductor arrives. Transitions into a light-as-air, bright, comfortable, and catchy tune reminiscent of Van Morrison at his most effortless. Only problem is the song’s too short, before somewhat jarring instrumental trail-out begins. ***
2. (3:27) The Desert Babbler — Dreamy or dreary? A Boz Scaggs’ slow dancer-like vibe with dance band brass and strings throughout. You may love this or not, but you can’t beat the opening lyric, “It’s New Year’s Eve and California’s gonna kill you soon…” **
3. (2:31) Joy — Waaayyy too middle of the road (MOR) for KZSU.
4. (3:30) Low Light Buddy of Mine — Syncopated, kinda jazzy beat. Saxophone prominent throughout. Raw, real Sam Beam. **
5. (3:36) Grace for Saints and Ramblers — Pulsing, fast-paced indie rock. Staccato drumming. Catchy bass line. Rapid-fire vocals. Excellent! ****
6. (2:53) Grass Widows — Slick, bluesy feel. Bass, saxophone, drums, and vibraphone support Beam’s lightly tripping vocals.
7. (3:39) Singers and the Endless Song — Distinctive, funky beat. Sharp stabs of brass. Good use of soulful harmonies.
8. (2:18) Sundown (Back in the Briars) — Brief interlude with shimmering background vocals as Beam once again calls to mind imagery from opening track.
9. (3:12) Winter Prayers — Slow, slightly haunting melody. Simple instrumentation: piano, guitar, bass, gentle rhythm. **
10. (4:28) New Mexico’s No Breeze — Up-tempo, smooth groove. Intricate bass line drives Beam’s vocals. Imagery recalls a ride in a convertible on Route 66 through the Southwest.
11. (5:40) Lovers’ Revolution — Another jazzy number that makes good use of brass elements.
12. (5:39) Baby Center Stage — Easy on the ears with a style that’s closer to the Iron & Wine of previous vintages. Just a hint of country with a mournful steel guitar. Very nice! ***

Track Listing
1. Caught In The Briars   7. Singers And The Endless Song
2. The Desert Babbler   8. Sundown (Back In The Briars)
3. Joy   9. Winter Prayers
4. Low Light Buddy Of Mine   10. New Mexico's No Breeze
5. Grace For Saints And Ramblers   11. Lovers' Revolution
6. Grass Widows   12. Baby Center Stage