Golden Gunn / Golden Gunn
Album: Golden Gunn   Collection:General
Artist:Golden Gunn   Added:Apr 2013
Label:Three Lobed Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-21 Pull Date: 2013-06-23
Week Ending: Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26 May 19 May 12 May 5 Apr 28
Airplays: 1 2 3 3 4 6 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
4. May 30, 2013: Daydream Disaster
2. Jun 06, 2013: The Sunset Life
5. May 23, 2013: Accidental Catharsis
Let Me Shine (Deathhouse)
3. May 30, 2013: The Sunset Life
Dickie's Theme
6. May 23, 2013: minimum entropy ii

Album Review
Diego Aguilar-Canabal
Reviewed 2013-04-18
Golden Gunn is the unexpected collaboration of folk guitar virtuoso Steve Gunn and M.C. Taylor of the alt-country outfit Hiss Golden Messenger. The result is old-school and new-folk, down home rootsy country and blazing acoustic raga-ness. Taylor says he was “tired of his voice,” so words take a backseat for the most part. This (Record Store Day exclusive) album sounds like the soundtrack to an unmade Coen Brothers film. FCC Clean, all tracks good to great except 8.

1. (8:31) Twinkling bells and feedback until 1:40, then a lighthearted folksy instrumental with a psychedelic edge.
2. (4:53) Stompin’, lurid country blues with occasional (heavily reverbed) vocals
3. (2:59) Groovy, bluesy country-rock anthem, laid back and catchy like Bob Dylan’s Modern Times band with smooth, earthy vocals. GREAT STUFF, perfect for any classic-rock or country show.
4. (3:32) Gentle instrumental lullaby with the melody dreamily uttered by some slide guitar
5. (5:18) Weird psychedelic washes, sappy slowcore vocals, drum machine and organ? Sounds like a futuristic country ballad, misses its mark by a bit, but I’ll take this over Bon Jovi Iver any day.
6. (6:35) Coooool, dark spy movie theme-like, chill plodding jazz-bluesy motifs perfect for low-ridin’
7. (2:53) Instrumental, more like GUNN-TRUSCINSKI DUO material in that Steve Gunn just shreds in DADGAD while a bluesy lead takes on mystical eastern flairs.
8. (4:01) WHAT? Way too upbeat and poppy, totally jars with the rest of the album, almost country-reggae? Not sure what the hell they were smoking.
9. (4:41) Sparse folksy licks, droning harmonica, QUIET FADE-OUT at 1:12.

Track Listing
1. Vysehrad   5. The Sun Comes Up A Purple Diamond
2. Dickie's Theme   6. From A Lincoln Continental
3. Let Me Shine (Deathhouse)   7. Goner
4. Lal's Song   8. A Couple Of Blackbirds
  9. Tennessee (Song For Noah)