Of Montreal / Daughter Of Cloud
Album: Daughter Of Cloud   Collection:General
Artist:Of Montreal   Added:Apr 2013
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-14 Pull Date: 2013-06-16
Week Ending: Jun 2 May 26 Apr 28
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 22, 2017: Waste FM
Sails, Hermaphroditic
3. May 25, 2013: Music Casserole
Tender Fax
2. May 31, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
Our Love Is Senile
4. Apr 26, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
Our Love Is Senile

Album Review
Wallace Brontoon
Reviewed 2013-04-15

Of Montreal - rarities and B-Sides from 2006 until now. Straddles their sound, from their earlier twee to their current Princey-dancey. Some of these, in fact many of these, were kept rare for a reason-- not every track is a gem.

Too, MANY are FCC unclean. Make sure to play only the safe tracks.

In general, some nice curiosities and some forgotten gems, but not TOO many.

1. (3:54) * Bass-heavy, electronic, dancy and twee, with whiney cryptic lyrics-- that is, the standard late-era Of Montreal sound... some good quiet moments brought back by drums...
2. (3:01) * FCC 3. (3:33) ** FCC 4. (2:35) FCC
5. (4:32) *** Woozy, damaged sound, under sheath of sound, about a coma. Weird talky bridge, echoey effects and more, all under dancey woozy bass, fades out into bleary dancey soundscape
6. (2:00) FCC 7. (4:15) *** FCC 8. (2:50) ** FCC
9. (3:40) From a split 7" they did with Deerhoof. Female vocals (Rebecca Cash)-- slow ballad with drums and piano, couldn't be less typical for the band. Computerized backing vocals come in halfway, and I guess that's more the band's speed. But mainly, it's a slightly pretty, slow singer-songwriter-y track.
10. (3:15) ***** Don't know when/where this song Slow, more acoustic opening, gets into sunny bass groove, hooky vocal lines in typical snotty Barnes delivery. A few etheral backing vocals... and a sax break. Then it gets minor and choral-ey, echoey and paranoid.
11. (2:56) *** FROM 2006 LIMITED TOUR EP-- more straightforward, driving guitars. The "old" Of Montreal non-dancey sound. Weird dissonant keyboards, vocals mixed very up. The driving sound... very unusual for them, but it's a hooky little song, and it works. Nice oohs and aahs at end, then SUDDEN silence.
12. (2:32) 2008 single. Harsh sounding mechanical percussion, "Clash of the Titans" reference. Strange re-sampling of own voice in higher pitch, very hip-hoppy production. I don't think it really works. Instrumental for last minute.
13. (2:58) FCC
14. (2:48) ** From 2006 tour single. Not too dancey, but high energy... weird grab-bag of '60s-ish instruments, all woven into strange psychey pitch, with strummy breaks, with twee snotty vocals over it all. More straightforward, driving... Sudden ending.
15. (2:28) * Record Store Day release. Heavily processed, electronic chirping, with voice from bottom of well. Slow, chill, lightweight, but ultimately pleasant.
16. (5:18) * FROM 2006 LIMITED TOUR EP. Slow, chill, drums and wafting synths... lazy minimalist vocals, only a few lines, repeated. Prolonged, pretty fade-out.
17. (3:43) * Buffalo Springfield (writer: Neil Young) cover. Prolonged, slow, all echoey piano and echoey vocals, occasionally expanding into multi-tracked chorus. Ambitious, fairly successful.

-Hervey Okkles

Track Listing
1. Our Love Is Senile   9. Feminine Effects
2. Obviousatonicnuncio   10. Tender Fax
3. Sails, Hermaphroditic   11. Psychotic Feeling
4. Steppin' Out   12. Alter Eagle
5. Hindlopp Stat   13. Kristiansand
6. Partizan Terminus   14. Micro University
7. Georgie's Lament   15. Subtext Read, Nothing New
8. Jan Doesn't Like It   16. Noir Blues To Tinnitus
  17. Expecting To Fly