Lunch, Lydia / Retrovirus
Album: Retrovirus   Collection:General
Artist:Lunch, Lydia   Added:Apr 2013
Label:Ugexplode Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-05-19 Pull Date: 2013-07-21
Week Ending: Jul 21 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26
Airplays: 1 2 3 1 2 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2017: Reckless Burning
The Gospel Singer
4. Oct 16, 2014: Meow
Black Juju
2. Jan 29, 2015: Meow
The Gospel Singer
5. Oct 08, 2014: Brownian Motion
Love Split With Blood
3. Jan 22, 2015: Meow
I Woke Up Dreaming
6. Jun 16, 2014: Today's Show
Black Juju

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-05-15
Holy Shit! Epitome of No New York No Wave Post Punk (see the coll. of same name in vinyl), this is a document of recent live set. Her backing band is an all-star cast, a who’s who of the late 70’s early 80’s NYC No Wave movement and it sounds it (bass- the Swans’ original/best bassist Kizys, guitar is Weasel Walter, Bob Bert the original Sonic Youth drummer…). Music along the lines of DNA, Swans….duh. Lunch was famous for being in a late 70’s No Wave band called Teenaged Jesus and the Jerks. She was a “performance artist”, pretty much invented the term (along with Karen Finley, popularized by Laurie Anderson </history_lesson>). Lunch guests on Sonic Youth’s “death valley 69” (see the vinyl section). Her other projects included Shotgun Wedding (see CDs) with the unrivaled guitar of Rowland S. Howard (probably her best band). When she was younger her drama on the mic could get cloying, that’s been replaced by a snarling wisdom that only age can bring. This is truly entertaining. The music is awesome, the recording fine. Almost all songs end with her talking to the audience. Watch FCCs (fine for safe harbor).

1) (0:36) crazed TJATJ guitar with FCC at end
2) (3:29) pounding then in your face, halting… hey, its no wave!
3) (4:35) a big plodding dirge, Swans’esque, noise guitar, POT DOWN THE TALKING AT END AS THERES AN FCC
4) (2:22) typical urgent no wave post punky spazz, 8 Eyed Spy song
5) (2:19) another 8 Eyed Spy song, urgent and punky again
6) (4:36) tribal punky, sneering
7) (6:37) gothy chorus guitar pedal, a Souixsie and Banshees feel, drawn out
8) (6:30) FCCs (shotgun wedding classic)
9) (3:07) FCCs driving rockin feel
10) (4:44) FCCs spoken word, “performance artist” feel with insane music
11) (4:34) big hollow dirgey, fucking AMAZING guitar and early SWANS bass!!!, sounds like very early Sonic Youth, WOW! (gee I wonder why…)
12) (4:12) FCCs, spoken stuff in dirge
13) (11:10) total epic tribal dirge tempered with cool rhythms, lots of moods and changes, crazed

Track Listing
1. Red Alert   7. Afraid Of Your Company
2. I Woke Up Dreaming   8. Burning Skulls
3. Mechanical Flattery   9. No Excuse
4. Love Split With Blood   10. Meltdown Oratorio
5. Ran Away Dark   11. The Gospel Singer
6. 3x3   12. What Is It?
  13. Black Juju