Minilogue / Blomma
Album: Blomma   Collection:General
Artist:Minilogue   Added:Mar 2013
Label:Cocoon Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-28 Pull Date: 2013-06-30 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jun 30 Jun 16 Jun 2 May 26 May 19 May 12 May 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 04, 2018: The Offbeat Generation
Atoms With Curiosity That Looks At Itself And Wonders Why It Wonders
4. May 27, 2013: Feral Kittens Run Amok
Forgotten Memories
2. Jun 26, 2013: Pumping Iron
Atoms With Curiosity That Looks At Itself And Wonders Why It Wonders
5. May 21, 2013: The Red Wheelbarrow
3. Jun 12, 2013: Schlepping Cobalt
Everything Is All You've Got
6. May 20, 2013: The Big Love Show
Atoms With Curiosity That Looks At Itself And Wonders Why It Wonders, Everything Is All You've Got

Album Review
Jack Wang
Reviewed 2013-04-24
Minilogue: Blomma: Label: Cocoon

(KZSU advance copy)
Is there such a thing as a techno "concept album"? Minilogue is a Swedish Duo, Marcus Henriksson and Sebastian Mullaert, and they've set out to produce what I think is the first experiment in a techno "concept" album. Rather than produce individual dance tracks for DJs to mix in & out of, each song is a unique "composition" or "techno symphony". The 2-CD result is amazing. There are a few pieces that feature beats, and other pieces that are sci-fi, electronic-experimentation.

Dance music heads: Try #1, #2.
Experimental DJs: Try #3, #6 (42 min long!), #8.

1. (21:00) - Begins with a liquid-organic ambience, some dialogue snippets, leads into a second half that builds into a shimmering and warm bath of beats and bubbles.
2. (18:06) - Gorgeous symphony of warm psychedelia, with the essence of birds, exotic wind chimes, and a beat to keep it going all the way through.
3. (12:22) - Vangelis should have done THIS one for "Blade Runner" 30 years ago, I swear it. The track picks up in tempo but all the while a bit dystopian like any good sci-fi soundtrack.
4. (13:58) - The clubbiest track so far, has a distinct funky house bassline to it, but the wonderful exotic synth experimentation remains
5. (8:52) - The shortest track on the EP is a warm, meandering, thought-provoking ambient-jazz number.
6. (42:00) - This epic piece is an album in itself - a 40min+ exercise in ambience, organic sounds mixed with digital explorations, synths, etc. It takes nearly 30 minutes to produce a danceable beat. Amazing, nonetheless.
7. (16:49) - Downtempo chill-jazz mostly. Very exotic, mysterious vibe.
8. (9:17) - Wonderful shimmering ambience. Very lush, eminently listenable.

Track Listing
1. Everything Is All You've Got   5. Nor Coming Nor Going
2. Atoms With Curiosity That Looks At Itself And Wonders Why It Wonders   6. E De Nan Hemma
3. Forgotten Memories   7. Mellan Landet
4. Existensberattigande   8. Evaporerar Ut Fran Sitt Gamstalle