Suuns / Images Du Futur
Album: Images Du Futur   Collection:General
Artist:Suuns   Added:Mar 2013
Label:Secretly Canadian  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-05-27 Pull Date: 2013-07-29
Week Ending: Jul 28 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2
Airplays: 1 3 2 1 2 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 24, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
4. Dec 04, 2015: A Visit From Drum (All My Friends Are Animals)
2. Aug 05, 2016: Time Traveler
Music Won't Save You
5. Oct 23, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Sleep Dealer)
Edie's Dream
3. Apr 12, 2016: Life Aquatic
6. Apr 09, 2015: A Visit From Drum

Album Review
catherine harris
Reviewed 2013-04-05
Suuns is an electro-rock band that pairs sleepy, shoe-gazey vocals with classic rock percussion and some pretty trippy synth melodies. Most tracks are mid-tempo and low-key, although they use a lot of dissonance and layering to build tension and spice things up. I kept waiting for them to push their songs a bit more, but for the most part they commit to a minimalist, restrained sound throughout the entire album. The one exception is track 6 where they let loose a bit more, and it really works well. Try: 6, 7, 10. No FCCs

1. (2:53) Huge wall of distorted guitar sound, vocals sound like they’re being sung with clenched teeth, builds with added dissonance and percussion
2. (4:13) Guitar plays the chromatic scale in between spacey vocals and synth verses, slower, simmering
3. (5:54) More melodic, mid-tempo, starts off kind of shoe gaze-y then builds with nice layering of slightly a-tonal/computer-y synth with restrained distorted guitar and percussion
4. (3:57) Heavily distorted, screechy guitar, standard rock beat/percussion, electronic runs/scales give it a psychedelic feel, non-articulated, spacey vocals
5. (4:21) Slower, quiet guitar strumming feels off beat from exposed percussion, lots of different synth blooms and interjections, pretty trippy
6. (4:36)*** Minor, droning vocals over minimal, guitar/synth-driven jam, lots of cymbals, distinct key change half-way through, fades into feedback
7. (4:57)* Stronger rock feel and beat, slightly dissonant guitar melody, diffuse sound, urgent, tense, layered vocals
8. (4:54) Guitar mostly just strums chord progressions, orchestral-sounding synth melodies, spacey, crooning slightly off-key vocals, mid-tempo
9. (3:35) Sustained, layered synth notes, sort of Halloween-y, chords repeatedly build tension then resolve, no vocals
10. (5:56)** Minimal synth beat gradually constructed from multiple layers, builds with melodic, blooming guitar doodles, relaxed vocals, crowd noises in background, really nice

Track Listing
1. Powers Of Ten   6. Sunspot
2. 2020   7. Bambi
3. Minor Work   8. Holocene City
4. Mirror Mirror   9. Images Du Futur
5. Edie's Dream   10. Music Won't Save You