Freelance Whales / Diluvia
Album: Diluvia   Collection:General
Artist:Freelance Whales   Added:Mar 2013
Label:Mom + Pop  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-03-16 Pull Date: 2013-05-19
Week Ending: May 19 May 12 May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 31
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 2 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 15, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Locked Out
4. Feb 19, 2016: Time Traveler
Dna Bank
2. Dec 15, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Dna Bank
5. Aug 21, 2015: Time Traveler
Dna Bank
3. Nov 11, 2016: Time Traveler
Dna Bank
6. Sep 05, 2014: Time Traveler
Locked Out

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2013-03-13
“Diluvia” Freelance Whales
Indie rock-pop with a distinctive playfulness that is the band’s trademark. The five-piece group’s sophomore effort follows its ghost-themed “Weathervanes” with a space-themed set of 11 songs. Melodies are amazingly layered with synth orchestration, squiggles or scratches, horns, lead vocals and harmonies, and frequently, the Whales’ trademark banjo and glockenspiel. Lyrics can be hard to understand but range from the very sexy “Spitting Image” to the esoteric “The Nothing.” A very strong follow-up to its debut CD.
— Francis

Recommended: 5, 4, 10, 6, 9, 1. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:37) Aeolus — Starts with Skype-like tones. Haunting harmonies over a clock-like melody with familiar lead vocals by lead Whale, Judah Dadone. **
2. (3:58) Land Features — Banjo prominent at beginning. Rat-a-tat drums. Sweeping synth orchestration and horns throughout.
3. (5:12) Follow Through — Brilliantly layered composition that builds to bigger, more anthemic sound. Hypnotic, swirling synths embrace Dadone’s strong vocals. ***
4. (4:02) Spitting Image — The Whales’ other lead vocalist, Doris Cellar, takes the lead on what might be the band’s most accessible single to-date. Soaring synths and harmonies. ****
5. (5:21) Locked Out — Pulsing melody, synth, glockenspiel and staccato drumming drive this strong indie pop tune. Horns add nice touch at end. ****
6. (3:50) Dig Into Waves — Harp-like synth opens. Flowing and fully orchestrated with big chorus and crashing cymbals. ***
7. (5:03) Red Star — Floating on a space walk, mesmerized by the stars. Vocals echo in the vastness. Becomes more structured midway through with point-counterpoint vocals by Dadone and Cellar.
8. (5:08) Winter Seeds — Cellar takes lead. Starts airy and ethereal like Hundred Water, then transforms to a more typical Whales’ sound.
9. (4:36) The Nothing — Atmospheric at start, but shifts into a cinematic song that could be the Fleet Foxes or Poor Moon. Very strong vocals. ***
10. (7:43) DNA Bank — Cosmic noise swells in the background of space. Develops into pensive, swirling vocals and banjo. Then shifts again after 4 1/2 minutes to uplifting, hopeful synth and horn-driven close. Fabulous – should have ended CD. ***
11. (4:23) Emergence Exit — Airy ending number with translucent waves of synth and rolling drums.

Track Listing
1. Aeolus   6. Dig Into Waves
2. Land Features   7. Red Star
3. Follow Through   8. Winter Seeds
4. Spitting Image   9. The Nothing
5. Locked Out   10. Dna Bank
  11. Emergence Exit