Trouble With Templeton, The / Six Months In A Cast
Album: Six Months In A Cast   Collection:General
Artist:Trouble With Templeton, The   Added:Mar 2013
Label:Tiny Monster  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-03-16 Pull Date: 2013-05-19
Week Ending: May 19 May 12 May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 31
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 3 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 30, 2014: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
4. Dec 20, 2013: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
2. Apr 18, 2014: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast
5. Dec 06, 2013: Time Traveler
Old Habits
3. Jan 10, 2014: Time Traveler (Top 35 Indie CDs of 2013)
Six Months In A Cast
6. Oct 11, 2013: Time Traveler
Six Months In A Cast

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2013-03-13
“Six Months in a Cast” The Trouble with Templeton
Indie folk from 21-year-old Australian singer/songwriter Thomas Calder. Calder wrote all five songs on the EP and recorded them with the help of four new bandmates. Tracks 2 through 5 are soulful, acoustic guitar-centric melodies that may remind you of The Tallest Man on Earth or Mumford & Sons. The opening track has multiple layers of instruments and a high-energy drum track that make it an extremely catchy single.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 3, 4. Borderline FCC on #2 “crappy”.

1. (4:37) Six Months in a Cast — Title track opens with a snapping sound as if it were being turned on and brought up to speed. Caldwell’s yearning vocals soar above a dynamic, driving, multi-instrumental bed that includes synthesizer orchestra, piano and drums. Excellent track! ****
2. (3:16) 30 Something — Slower, but bouncy ditty about being “happy with being crappy.” Somewhat annoying harmonies sung as a round in the background. ****
3. (3:30) Old Habits — Nice fingerpicking guitar work, with piano added partway in. Thomas Calder’s expressive voice and honest lyrics are prominently on display. ***
4. (4:03) Home — Simple, crooning vocals, acoustic guitar and bass. Sliding between chords is a nice touch. Wistful vocals floating on the breeze. **
5. (4:34) Tired — Very down-tempo. Sorrowful and, well, tired sounding.

Track Listing
1. Six Months In A Cast   3. Old Habits
2. 30 Something   4. Home
  5. Tired