Mountain Goats, The / Transcendental Youth
Album: Transcendental Youth   Collection:General
Artist:Mountain Goats, The   Added:Feb 2013
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-26 Pull Date: 2013-04-28
Week Ending: Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 31 Mar 24 Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 3 3 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 11, 2014: Time Traveler
Transcendental Youth
4. Aug 09, 2013: Time Traveler
Transcendental Youth
2. Jan 03, 2014: Time Traveler
Transcendental Youth
5. Jun 28, 2013: Time Traveler
Harlem Roulette
3. Sep 13, 2013: Time Traveler
Harlem Roulette
6. Apr 19, 2013: Time Traveler
Transcendental Youth

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-02-20
If you’re picking this up, by now you probably know the drill, John Darnielle lo-fi turned full Merge studio, acoustic guitars mostly with high production values, nasally vocals, strong lyrics, and tons of instruments and effects. If I had to name a theme for the album it would be anti-suicide, but the non-suicidal could probably get a life-ain’t-that-bad vibe out of it

*1 (2:28) Riffy acoustic guitar, loads of advice/support here for the angsty who haven’t become completely cynical by now. “Just stay alive,� probably defining some kid’s high school
2 (3:59) Slow, piano ballad, most likely about drug abuse and most likely with a shout out to Elliott Smith in it
*3 (3:14) Brassy, upbeat track about crippling hopelessness and angst with bonus religious metaphors
*4 (3:25) One of the big promo tracks, upbeat/acoustic (with a bit of vitriol) about the tragic life of child star Frankie Lymon. Great entry in the Mountain Goats’ canon, almost certain to be what people remember from this album
5 (3:06) Piano, slow, quiet, sorta sappy with the backing synth/strings. About acceptance
6 (2:50) Get Lonely feel to this one, with some weird distorted/echoey background vox.
7 (4:01) Tense, whirring, old-school MGs material with new school production “Jenny,� someone you’ll never see again
*8 (2:47) Piano with a doo-wop feel drives the song, vocals follow; organized crime feel
9 (2:24) Bouncy, slow, kinda whiny; not liking how things come together
10 (4:03) Slow, lots of piano, bass, and synth/strings. A rarity, for me, in the Goats’ catalog that no sense of desperation in the music sticks out; music fully complements the lyrics here
11 (2:53) Not bad, but it’s just acoustic guitar+drums/stay alive theme, no real reason for it to be the one song you play on radio from this
**12 (4:12) Piano, drums, bass and brass (mostly brass). Jazzy feel, grabbing a cigarette at 9 AM under a rainy balcony, though song structure is purely pop.

Track Listing
1. Amy Aka Spent Gladiator 1   7. Night Light
2. Lakeside View Apartments Suite   8. The Diaz Brothers
3. Cry For Judas   9. Counterfeit Florida Plates
4. Harlem Roulette   10. In Memory Of Satan
5. White Cedar   11. Spent Gladiator 2
6. Until I Am Whole   12. Transcendental Youth