Ground Waves / Electric Nhic
Album: Electric Nhic   Collection:General
Artist:Ground Waves   Added:Jan 2013
Label:Nhic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-06 Pull Date: 2013-06-09

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 04, 2016: The Offbeat Generation
For Jz

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-04-01
The Electric NHIC (New Haven Improvisers Collective) is a group of skilled musicians who pursue free improvisation, with a relatively focused approach. The sound can be described as experimental jazz with a progressive rock sensibility.

Recommended: 1, 2, 3, 9

1.Static Walls and Violent Gestures (5:01)
Pensive introduction with 2 long notes from the saxophone. Morphs into a slow, rhythmic swing. Drums guide the groove, as the saxophone and guitar both take the improvisational lead, simultaneously. A more uniform structure sets off the conclusion, with a very jazzy end, from 3:48-5:02

2. For JZ (5:06)
Drums and bass kick this song off nicely, with an underlying organ sound from the keyboard, which come together to provide a funky afrobeat-ish groove. At 0:16, the 2 guitars trade improvisational riffs, followed by the saxophones and clarinet. Things flow steadily, until the groove calms into a mellow conclusion.

3. A New Haven (6:13)
Begins with exquisite vibrations from the keyboard, accompanied by sax highlights and an assortment of percussion sounds and echoed guitar plucks, for a hypnotic feel. Drums arrive at 1:40, bringing in a raw groove, which hardens, as the rock guitar shares space with equally aggressive horns. At 3:30, the pace becomes more frantic. The violent crescendo ends at 4:12, when the drums kick off a new groove, which begins to wind down at 5:21. At 5:59, there's a tease of a whole new jam, but it abruptly ends, with the song's final conclusion.

4. Upon The Coma Shelf (5:29)
Slow rock with improvisational riffs throughout. Spacey synthesizer sounds are introduced into the mix at 4:21.

5. Notes From Underground (5:35)
Begins with a long, monotone intro and gains traction at 2:00, when all instruments collide. However, there is no discernible groove here.

6. Make Them Circles Concentric (6:28)
Starts with a crisp drum line, promptly followed by all of the other instruments. Uptempo bluesy funk groove gets louder and more frantic toward the end.

7. Water On The Brain (6:28)
Horns provide mellow textures, accompanied by guitar chords and light drumming. At 1:31, the tempo changes, guided by a consistent guitar riff, as the drumming gets busier and more intricate.

8. No 1 (3:35)
Another long, monotonous intro, which shifts into somewhat of a march at 1:00. From 1:48-2:20, the sax and guitar trade interpretations of a similar riff, making equally poignant statements. Long outro starts at 3:00 and extends to 3:36

9. Henry's Lament (5:06)
Slow, steady groove, with clarinet taking the lead throughout.

Track Listing
1. Static Walls And Violent Gestures   5. Notes From Underground
2. For Jz   6. Make Them Circles Concentric
3. A New Haven   7. Water On The Brain
4. Upon The Coma Shelf   8. No 1
  9. Henry's Lament