Bad Cop Bad Cop / Wings Of Techno
Album: Wings Of Techno   Collection:General
Artist:Bad Cop Bad Cop   Added:Jan 2013
Label:Pomelo Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-02 Pull Date: 2013-04-07 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Apr 7 Feb 24
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 04, 2016: Life Aquatic
3. Feb 20, 2013: The Red Wheelbarrow
Soulsoul, Cornplex, Cheeky
2. Apr 06, 2013: Everything 2.0

Album Review
Dru Deep
Reviewed 2013-01-11
Bad Cop Bad Cop: Wings of Techno Label: Pomelo

This is a fascinating release that is all over the place, and spans many different styles of music from funk/soul to rave-y techno & sci-fi madness. Bad Cop Bad Cop features two talented producers Alex Cortex & Lopazz, and the album expresses their creativity and diversity of sound. Despite the album title, nothing here straight techno - each track has its own distinctive character. The strongest tracks are in the first half of the album (tracks #1-#5 "Surfin USB", "Hilton Hihat", "Cheeky", "Complex", and "Soul Soul"). Each track is unpredictable. #11 "Schaschlik" is also fun to listen to.

1. "Surfin USB": Tongue-in-cheek fun & funk. Catchy bassline, synths lay out a tasty groove.
2. "Hilton Hihat": Comical & cute retro-style disco-infused house
3. "Cheeky": Smooth & sensual deep house. Lush synths and great bassline
4. "Cornplex": Crazy wild techno-acid-house - chaos tied together through beats
5. "Soul Soul": Great acid-y effects over a trippy deep-house groove. Love this.
6. "Unicorny": Chillout synth-driven downtempo interlude
7. "Bodyless Material": New-wave inspired electro synth pop. Really nice.
8. "Mudshark Galore": Acid-y synth-driven rave bouncer that sounds a bit New Wave.
9. "Come Swallow Me": Weird funk. Distorted vocals and noisy jazz-funk.
10. "Beauty": Bass-driven track without beats, a lot of shimmering synths
11. "Schaschlik": Sci-fi madness over crazy percussion. Not a straight dance track but very interesting to listen to.
12. "Retro Futurist": *FCC* - a phone conversation about the frustrations with the music industry, over a smooth-soul track.

Track Listing
1. Surfin Usb   7. Bodyless Material
2. Hilton Hihat   8. Mudshark Galore
3. Cheeky   9. Come Swallow Me
4. Cornplex   10. Beauty
5. Soulsoul   11. Schaschlik
6. Unicorny   12. Retro Futurist