Demarco, Mac / 2
Album: 2   Collection:General
Artist: Demarco, Mac   Added:Jan 2013
Label: Captured Tracks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-12 Pull Date: 2013-03-17
Week Ending: Mar 17 Mar 10 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 13
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 15, 2023: Vinyls from the Attic
The Stars Keep On Calling My Name, Ode To Viceroy
4. Feb 25, 2023: Vinyls from thr Attic
Ode To Viceroy
2. May 20, 2023: Vinyls from the Attic
Ode To Viceroy
5. Dec 03, 2022: Vinyls from the Attic
3. Apr 15, 2023: Vinyls from the Attic
Ode To Viceroy
6. Oct 19, 2022: Vinyls from the Attic
Freaking Out The Neighborhood

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-01-10
Lo-fi pop
DeMarco’s second album of 2012. The woozy guitars and relaxed atmosphere carry over from his first release, but the overall tone here is more personal and earnest, a switch from the oddball antics of Rock And Roll Night Club. Addictive songwriting and a distinctive, home-recorded sound. Favorites: 1, 2, 3, 8, 11. No FCCs.

1. *(2:41)—Medium-slow. Excellent juxtaposition of bounce and unease, both in the music and the lyrics.
2. *(2:27)—Slow, loping beat. Relaxed, pleasant, expansive. Dreamy “dreaming.”
3. *(2:54)—Medium-fast, driving beat. Catchy guitar lick. DeMarco apologizes for being a wild man.
4. (3:10)—Slow. Get funky! Choruses feature trippy vocals and sound effects.
5. (3:54)—Slow. Sleepy, sunny, blissful. About DeMarco’s favorite brand of cigarettes.
6. (2:56)—The slow funkiness returns. Wailing guitar solo near the end.
7. (2:23)—Medium-fast. Bouncy, major key. Pretty chorus that sounds like a sigh: “I just wanna go.”
8. *(3:11)—Slow jam. Beautiful, humble, from-the-heart love song.
9. (1:41)—Slooooow. Instrumental. Deep, funky, way cool. Trippy guitar.
10. (2:30)—Slow. Backmasked intro. More warm, pretty funkiness. “I’ll be right there at your side, Sherrill.”
11. *(3:39)—Another love song, stripped down to acoustic guitar and vocals. Features some impressively high singing. DeMarco stops playing at -0:40 and starts talking to someone in the room with him.

Track Listing
1. Cooking Up Something Good   6. Robson Girl
2. Dreaming   7. The Stars Keep On Calling My Name
3. Freaking Out The Neighborhood   8. My Kind Of Woman
4. Annie   9. Boe Zaah
5. Ode To Viceroy   10. Sherrill
  11. Still Together