Shifted / Razors Ep
Album: Razors Ep   Collection:General
Artist:Shifted   Added:Dec 2012
Label:Mote Evolver  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-12-29 Pull Date: 2013-03-03 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 20
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 27, 2013: Schlepping Cobalt
2. Jan 17, 2013: The Sunset Life

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-12-24
Shifted: Razors EP Label: Mote Evolver

This EP is another example of why Shifted is making a huge name for himself in the world of techno. Sure, there's a lot of great techno out there these days, but Shifted has really done something twisted with his productions. Using raw and dirty effects, incisive mechanical tones, and nervous patterns, he's able to put out gritty and abusive tracks one after another. All tracks on this EP are punishing dancefloor bangers.

1. "Razors" - Murderous techno with a nasty and incisive repetitve cutting noise that's perfect for the title. This is dirty, mean, brutal, take-no-prisoners techno at its finest.
2. "Over" - Continuing the cruelty. Dirty crackly noises, rollong heavy bass, pounding beats, crushing and pounding. But a warbly synth tone somehow elevates & lifts this track from the depths.
3. "Bloodless" - I think this track should be called "Bloody Acid" because there is a twisted analog blurp over this entire thing, and an insistent percussive tone driving you a bit insane.
4. "Trouble" - Nervous & robotic. Staccato tones and mechcanical effects, liquidy tones and programmed hypnotic pounding.

Track Listing
1. Razors   3. Bloodless
2. Over   4. Trouble