Wold / Badb
Album: Badb   Collection:General
Artist:Wold   Added:Dec 2012
Label:Crucial Blast  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-12-08 Pull Date: 2013-02-10 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jan 27
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 26, 2013: Controlled Chaos
Nine Virgins Of Badb

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-12-08
Canadian black metal / noise duo Wold’s second demo gets reissued by Crucial Blast. Since it was originally a limited cassette release, listening to this on CD almost feels as if one were hearing something forbidden, locked away in secret dusty vaults beneath Aleister Crowley’s unpublished scribblings.—The music itself amplifies that effect. After your brain finally processes the sickening, evil screams and distortion, you realize that holy shit, there are no drums! You can discern some vague sputterings of fuzzed-out explosions, but the momentum provided by the noise is hardly rhythmic in nature. The ebb of infernal droning noise builds into some hideous swarms of darkness, essentially reducing black metal to its absolute rawest, most primal core.
(Excerpted from a review for Foxy Digitalis)
FCC clean. RIYL Bone Awl, Mutiilation, cassettes, worshipping the devil

1. (0:40) brief intro. Subtle, windy echoes.
2. (2:19) harsh, windy blasts of static, distorted banshee shrieking
3. (2:44) atonal corpsefuckery, discordant looping riffs buried in ancient muck
5. (4:39) subtler yet harsher, earslaughtering chaos
6. (2:55) …you get the idea by now…
7. (4:44) …right?
8. (7:07) how ‘bout now?
9. (0:38) the end.

Track Listing
1. Her Voice I   5. The Wind Shall Carry Her Message
2. Badb   6. Evocation Of Badb
3. Nine Virgins Of Badb   7. We Kill For Her
4. The Cold Wind's Grasp   8. Final Offering
  9. Her Voice Ii