Bat For Lashes / Haunted Man, The
Album: Haunted Man, The   Collection:General
Artist:Bat For Lashes   Added:Dec 2012
Label:Echo Label Limited, The  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-12-29 Pull Date: 2013-03-03
Week Ending: Mar 3 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13
Airplays: 1 4 1 5 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 23, 2016: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
All Your Gold
2. Jun 02, 2016: All Passion No Technique
All Your Gold
5. Dec 06, 2013: Time Traveler
3. Nov 06, 2015: Time Traveler
6. Sep 12, 2013: second meeting

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2012-12-21
“The Haunted Man” Bat for Lashes
A collection of highly artistic, exceptionally well-produced indie synth-pop tunes. Bat for Lashes is Natasha Khan, an English-born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist with Pakistani roots on her father’s side that give her an exotic look and sound. This is her third CD, and it has received significant critical acclaim. Musically, the songs are elaborate with intricate instrumentation and synth orchestration and rhythm tracks. Khan’s lyrics on several of the songs reflect the loneliness she felt following a difficult breakup. The end result is an album that provides a window into the soul of a most impressive, expressive artist.
— Francis

Recommended: 5, 2, 1, 7, 6, 3, 12. No FCCs detected.

1. (4:47) Lilies — Soaring, uplifting vocals with simple electronic drum track overlaid with synth orchestra swells. ****
2. (4:32) All your Gold — Up-tempo, syncopated, Middle Eastern rhythm. A catchy tune that becomes almost danceable at times. ****
3. (5:00) Horses of the Sun — Tribal rhythms punctuated by crisp beats. Vocals range from husky and almost spoken to full, spirited choruses. **
4. (4:56) Oh Yeah — Trip-hop beat powers this playful look at moving on after a failed relationship.
5. (4:26) Laura — Spectacularly beautiful ballad. Piano and vocals woven together create a sing that’s raw and extraordinarily honest. ****
6. (3:43) Winter Fields — Cinematic flavor works with Kahn’s vocals and lets one imagine a movies scene of his or her own movie scene. ***
7. (5:16) The Haunted Man — Sputtering electronic drums transition to a march-like rhythm backing Kahn and a ghost-like male chorus. Electronic effects continue as part of a long, dreamy trail-out. ***
8. (4:36) Marilyn — Dream-pop with psychedelic overtones. Kahn’s vocals are a perfect match. Yoo-hoo’s near the end may annoy some listeners. **
9. (4:02) A Wall— Distinctive synth and drum track. Vocal counterpoint — with storytelling lead answered by hopeful chorus saying, “Where you see a wall, I see a door.”
10. (4:04) Rest your Head — Shimmering melody with electronic rhythm track and bell-like flourishes. **
11. (6:22) Deep Sea Diver — After Kahn’s opening calls, an intricate synth and piano track drives her delicate vocals. **

Track Listing
1. Lilies   6. Winter Fields
2. All Your Gold   7. The Haunted Man
3. Horses Of The Sun   8. Marilyn
4. Oh Yeah   9. A Wall
5. Laura   10. Rest Your Head
  11. Deep Sea Diver