Calexico / Algiers
Album: Algiers   Collection:General
Artist:Calexico   Added:Nov 2012
Label:Anti- / Epitaph  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-06-03 Pull Date: 2013-08-05
Week Ending: Aug 4 Jul 21 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9
Airplays: 1 1 2 3 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 09, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Sep 09, 2021: funk to folk (rebroadcast from Oct 1, 2015)
Maybe On Monday
2. Apr 27, 2022: The Road Trip (rebroadcast from Mar 3, 2017)
5. Aug 16, 2021: funk to folk (rebroadcast from Oct 1, 2015)
Maybe On Monday
3. Mar 07, 2022: funk to folk (rebroadcast from Oct 1, 2015)
Maybe On Monday
6. Jul 14, 2018: Road Trip

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-05-20
“Western” indie rock, twangy with brushed drums, gut guitars and Mariachi/Norteno instruments here and there. This material has more mainstream “indie rock” leanings and should please fans of such, but also contains the trademark sounds that has made them famous. Tucson band made up of LA transplants that discovered “The Old Pueblo” by having met and played with native son Howe Gelb in his Giant Sand related projects. They’ve captured a lot of attention over the years by using Southwestern traditional instruments and players, even being dubbed “the” “southwest sound”. Lots of collaborations under their belts, their sound is typified by understated vocals, use of brushes on drums (but with a heavy snare beat) and a sizzle cymbal/high hat, gut stringed (“Spanish”) guitar and upright bass, vibes, even Mariachi trumpets. See also OP8, Friends of Dean Martinez, Giant Sand, The Band of Blacky Ranchette, Al Perry and the Cattle, and Howe Gelb (all projects they are related to) as well as Mick Harvey, The Triffids, Tarnation, early Cowboy Junkies.

1) (4:14) mid paced indie feel, slight minor keyed westernisms but mostly vocal-centric
2) (3:30) sounds like run of mill indie rock with rootsy sentiments
3) (4:14) heavy brushed snare beat with trademark tones appearing
4) (3:57) indie rock ballady, pleasant
5) (3:53) kinda cheesy romantic dark song
6) (3:42) title track, instrumental, soaring guitar and sexy beat, feels like the CD has finally started, that the first 5 songs were just some other opening band
7) (3:37) upbeat yet dark, pretty stuff
8) (4:23) quick shuffle beat, vocals in spanish, trumpets, decidedly southwestern
9) (2:33) dark and slower ballad, sparse with subtle vibes
10) (4:15) mariachi trumpets, vocals in Spanish (guest vocalist?), “indie-bolero”
11) (4:22) pretty ballad, chill and romantic, builds toward end, epic really
12) (3:54) trademark guitar, sizzle cymbal dark ballad with soaring pedal steel, all instruments

Track Listing
1. Epic   7. Maybe On Monday
2. Splitter   8. Puerto
3. Sinner In The Sea   9. Better And Better
4. Fortune Teller   10. No Te Vayas
5. Para   11. Hush
6. Algiers   12. The Vanishing Mind